Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Bookmark and Share
File #: 160380    Version: 0 Name:
Type: Resolution Status: ADOPTED
File created: 4/28/2016 In control: CITY COUNCIL
On agenda: Final action: 4/28/2016
Title: Recognizing and honoring the seven Philadelphia school principals who received the 2016 Lindback Award for distinguished principal leadership.
Sponsors: Councilmember Quiñones Sánchez, Councilmember Blackwell, Councilmember Reynolds Brown, Councilmember Oh, Councilmember Squilla, Councilmember Gym, Councilmember Parker, Councilmember Domb, Councilmember Taubenberger, Councilmember Bass, Councilmember Greenlee, Councilmember Henon, Council President Clarke, Councilmember Jones, Councilmember Johnson, Councilmember O'Neill, Councilmember Green
Attachments: 1. Signature16038000.pdf


Recognizing and honoring the seven Philadelphia school principals who received the 2016 Lindback Award for distinguished principal leadership.



WHEREAS, The Lindback Award presented by the Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Foundation, recognizes principals who have made significant leadership and humanitarian contributions to their schools and communities; and


WHEREAS, Dr. William R. Hite, superintendent of the Philadelphia School District, was quoted saying, “The Lindback Award recognizes stellar achievements by principals across Philadelphia that benefit students, faculty, and staff members…with hard work, dedication, and creativity, our school leaders give their very best each day”; and


WHEREAS, The 2016 recipients of the Lindback Award are Carolyn Allen-Glass of Thomas G. Morton Elementary, Stacey Burnley of Edwin M. Stanton Elementary, Connie Carnivale of H.A. Brown Academics Plus, Dr. Toni Damon of Murrell Dobbins Career and Technical High School, Karen Dean of Lankenau Environmental Science Magnet High School, Brianna Dunn of Laura W. Waring Elementary, and James Williams of Kensington Health Sciences Academy; and


WHEREAS, Dr. Carolyn Allen-Glass joined the school district in 1985 starting at Kearney Elementary and is now in her third school year as principal of Morton Elementary, focusing on improving the school’s culture and enhancing parental support by working with community partners. She also served as an assistant principal at Russell Conwell Middle School; and


WHEREAS, Stacey Burnley joined the school district in 1998 and served as principal of E.M. Stanton Elementary since 2011 and was recognized by former U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan for its successful community partnerships despite budgetary and staffing constraints. The school’s partners include the Rendell Center and Children’s Literacy Initiative; and


WHEREAS, Connie Carnivale has served as principal of H.A. Brown Academics Plus Elementary since 2012 where under her leadership daily student attendance has improved, parental involvement has increased, and the student government has become more active. Community partners include Friends of H.A. Brown, Philadelphia Museum of Art, Franklin Institute, Temple University, Comcast, OIC of Philadelphia and Visitation Church; and


WHEREAS, Dr. Toni Damon has served as principal of Dobbins CTE High School since 2012 and has led the creation of a mentoring program between Dobbins and Peirce Elementary. She has established a successful robotics and chess team, improved college acceptance rates, and helped Dobbins juniors earn credits from the Community College of Philadelphia; and


WHEREAS, Karen Dean is a 28 year district veteran and is in her fifth year as Lankenau High School Principal, and for two consecutive years Lankenau has received the “distinguished” designation for Title I schools by the Pennsylvania Department of Education; and


WHEREAS, Brianna Dunn has served as principal of Waring Elementary since 2008, she formerly served as the dean of students, special education teacher, and special education liaison at McMichael Elementary. Through several community partners Waring Elementary has maintained a full art and music program under Principal Dunn’s leadership and several extracurricular activities despite budget constraints; and


WHEREAS, James Williams has been the principal of Kensington Health Sciences Academy since 2008 as he has worked for the school district for over 20 years. He is credited with changing the school mission of Kensington Health Sciences Academy to reflect the high expectations and the labor market demands in health professions, including dentistry and pharmacy. Kensington Health Sciences Academy has the first high school pharmacy technician program in the state and last year had over eighty percent of the students being accepted into two and four year colleges and universities; and


WHEREAS, On Tuesday, May 3, 2016 at The Prince Theater located at 1412 Chestnut Street beginning at 4:30 PM honoring fifty-eight high school teachers from The School District of Philadelphia and the seven principals who received The Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Award; now, therefore, be it


RESOLVED, BY VIRTUE OF THIS CITATION, THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, Hereby recognizes and honors all of the 2016 Lindback Award recipients and congratulates them on this outstanding achievement and extend the sincere respect and admiration of this legislative body.


 FURTHER RESOLVED, That an Engrossed copy of this resolution be sent to the recipients of the Lindback Award, as evidence of the sincere respect and admiration of this legislative body.