Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Bookmark and Share
File #: 160653    Version: 0 Name:
Type: Resolution Status: ADOPTED
File created: 6/9/2016 In control: CITY COUNCIL
On agenda: Final action: 6/16/2016
Title: Nominating 25 individuals for consideration by the Mayor as appointees to the Commission on Parks and Recreation.
Sponsors: Councilmember Bass, Councilmember Taubenberger, Councilmember Jones, Councilmember Parker, Councilmember Johnson, Councilmember Oh, Councilmember Quiñones Sánchez
Attachments: 1. Resolution No. 16065300.pdf, 2. Signature16065300.pdf


Nominating 25 individuals for consideration by the Mayor as appointees to the Commission on Parks and Recreation.



WHEREAS, On November 4, 2008, the voters of Philadelphia approved a Charter amendment to create a new unified Department of Parks and Recreation, and a new Commission on Parks and Recreation; and


WHEREAS, The Commission is composed of 15 members: nine appointed by the Mayor from a list of nominations submitted by Council; and six ex officio members (the Commissioners of the Departments of Parks and Recreation, Water, Streets, and Public Property; the Council President; and the Executive Director of the City Planning Commission; and


WHEREAS, The Mayor’s nine appointees serve for a term of four years. Their terms will expire later this year, and it is now time for Council to submit the next list of nominees for the Mayor’s consideration; and


WHEREAS, Section 3-905 of the Charter requires that, after an application period of no less than 30 days, “the Council shall hold a public hearing on the proposed nominations”; and that “[n]o later than ninety days after the close of applications, the Council, by resolution, shall forward to the Mayor no fewer than 18 and no more than 25 nominations”; and


WHEREAS, On March 30, 2016, Philadelphia Parks and Recreation Commissioner Kathryn Ott Lovell and Council President Darrell L. Clarke jointly issued a press release announcing the opening of the application process and stating that the deadline to apply was May 6, 2016; notice was timely published in five newspapers soliciting applications for the Commission; an Application Form was published electronically at www.phila.gov, www.phlcouncil.com, and www.phila.gov/parksandrecreation; copies of the Application Form were distributed to libraries, recreation centers, Fairmount Park facilities, and the Chief Clerk’s Office; Council and the Mayor’s Office of Communication used social media to publicize the application process; and the Philadelphia Parks Alliance notified the individuals on its extensive mailing list; and


WHEREAS, In response to these announcements, more than 60 individuals submitted detailed applications; and


WHEREAS, On April 28, 2016, Council adopted Resolution No. 160388 authorizing Council’s standing Committee on Parks, Recreation and Cultural Affairs (“the Committee”) to hold the public hearing required by the Charter Amendment and to submit a report to Council setting forth the Committee’s recommended list of nominations for submission to the Mayor; and


WHEREAS, On May 23 and May 24, 2016, the Committee held public hearings at which applicants presented their credentials; and


WHEREAS, On June 8, 2016, the Committee adopted a report (Attachment “A” hereto) setting forth its recommended list of 25 nominees for consideration by the Council; now, therefore, be it


RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, ThatPursuant to Section 3-905 of the Philadelphia Home Rule Charter, and upon recommendation of the Committee on Parks, Recreation and Cultural Affairs pursuant to Resolution No. 160388, the 25 individuals whose names are listed in Attachment “A” hereto are hereby nominated for consideration by the Mayor as potential appointees to the Commission on Parks and Recreation.


RESOLVED FURTHER, That The Chief Clerk of City Council is hereby directed to transmit a certified copy of this Resolution to the Mayor. 



Attachment A


Committee on Parks Recreation & Cultural Affairs

Report on Resolution 160388


We hereby recommend that Council submit the following list of nominations to the Mayor:


Gregory J. Allen

Rebecca (Rudi) Byron

Michael J. Cappon

Phoebe Coles

Susan Dannenberg

Akeem J. Dixon

Eric Edi

Michael R. Froehlich

Debra Wolf Goldstein

Jeffrey L. Hackett

Charlie Hills

Jean-Marie Kouassi

Darren Lipscomb

M. Richard Nalbandian

Raed (Ray) Nasser

Felicia Parker-Cox

Matthew Perks

Brenda Reavis

Frank Robinson

Dana Russikoff

Noreen Shanfelter

Kristine Soffa

Joy D. Soto

A. J. Thomson

Janice M. Woodcock