## City of Philadelphia



## Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 240940)

## RESOLUTION

Honoring and congratulating Alan Horwitz, the Philadelphia 76ers "Sixth Man" and superfan on the occasion of his induction to the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

WHEREAS, Alan Horwitz began attending 76ers games as a teenager in the 1960s, when his mother bought him tickets in the old Philadelphia Civic Center rafters for 75 cents; and

WHEREAS, Now at 80 years old, Horwitz sits courtside between the Sixers' bench and scorer's table, adorned in his trademark sunglasses, ball cap, and "Sixth Man" jersey; and

WHEREAS, Alan Horwitz has been a dedicated Philadelphia 76ers season ticket holder for over 60 years, witnessing decades of basketball history; and

WHEREAS, Horwitz will be recognized alongside fellow superfans such as Jack Nicholson, Spike Lee, and Billy Crystal, who are forever linked to their respective teams through their loyalty, passion, and enthusiasm; and

WHEREAS, Alan Horwitz has had the privilege of watching some of the greatest Sixers players over the years, including Wilt Chamberlain, whom he admired as a teenager, and Julius Erving, another Hall of Famer, while forming close relationships with stars such as Allen Iverson and Joel Embiid; and

WHEREAS, Induction into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame is a crowning achievement in a remarkable year for Horwitz, who is also the namesake and benefactor of the newly renovated \$36 million Alan Horwitz "Sixth Man" Center in Nicetown, home to the Philadelphia Youth Basketball organization; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, THAT THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, Hereby recognizes and congratulates Alan Horwitz, offering sincere respect and admiration of this legislative body.

## City of Philadelphia

RESOLUTION NO. 240940 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the seventeenth day of October, 2024.

Kenyatta Johnson
PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Elizabeth McCollum
INTERIM CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmember Thomas

Sponsored by: Councilmembers Thomas Phillips, Gilmore Richardson,

Brooks, O'Rourke, Driscoll, Squilla and Bass