

## Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 080943)

#### **RESOLUTION**

Honoring the George Washington High School Football Team on winning the City Championship.

WHEREAS, The George Washington High School Football Team won the Public League Championship with a record 10 wins and one loss; and

WHEREAS, For the first time since 1979, the Public League Champion and the Catholic League Champion met for a City Championship; and

WHEREAS, On November 22, 2008, the George Washington High School Eagles and LaSalle High School Explorers faced off in the City Championship; and

WHEREAS, Coach Ron Cohen, the winningest football coach in Public League history with a record of 217 wins, 58 losses and two ties, took a team with 10 All-Public League honored players and a slue of underclassmen, and honed them into a highly coordinated offense and an intrepid defense; and

WHEREAS, The Eagles defense, led by seniors James Flower and Jamal Williams, and juniors Sharrif Floyd, Martin Haynes and Elijah Douglas wreaked havoc on LaSalle's potent passing offense limiting them to just 12 completions in 33 attempts; and

WHEREAS, The Eagles upset the favored Explorers by a score of 23 to 14; now therefore

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, That we honor the George Washington High School Football Team on winning the City Championship; and

RESOLVED FURTHER, That we congratulate both George Washington High School and LaSalle High Schools on excellent seasons; and

RESOLUTION NO. 080943 continued

FURTHER RESOLVED, That an Engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the George Washington High School Football Team as evidence of the sincere sentiments of this legislative body.

RESOLUTION NO. 080943 continued	

RESOLUTION NO. 080943 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the fourth of December, 2008.

Anna C. Verna
PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Patricia Rafferty
CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmember O'Neill

Sponsored by: Councilmembers O'Neill, Greenlee, Clarke, Kenney, Krajewski,

DiCicco, Goode, Rizzo, Sanchez, Jones, Council President Verna, Councilmembers Tasco, Reynolds Brown, Blackwell,

Green, Kelly and Miller