City of Philadelphia



Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 241112)

RESOLUTION

Honoring and congratulating Dionne Gary, the first African American woman to be the president of the AFSCME District 1199C, National Union of Hospital and Health Care Employees.

WHEREAS, AFSCME is the largest trade union in the United States, representing over 1.3 million public employees with over 3 thousand unions across forty-six states; and

WHEREAS, Dionne Gary is a long-time champion of labor activism, where she has fought for workers' rights in the healthcare community. With over twenty years of experience in organized labor, Gary has supported hospitals, nursing homes, childcare providers, and healthcare workers; and

WHEREAS, District 1199c is an affiliate of the NUHHCE that works to represent hospital and healthcare employees, working to negotiate terms and conditions, manage due process hearings, represent members in arbitration, and overall galvanize working communities; and

WHEREAS, Gary brings passion to her work as an advocate and healthcare professional. She believes in the power of grace, generosity, and resilience to bring communities together. now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, Hereby honors, congratulates and recognizes that Dionne Gary brings unparalleled leadership and a wealth of experiences that reinforces her dedication to human rights in the realm of healthcare.

FURTHER RESOLVED That an Engrossed copy be presented to Dionne Gary, further evidencing the sincere respect of this legislative body.

City of Philadelphia

RESOLUTION NO. 241112 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the fifth day of December, 2024.

Kenyatta Johnson
PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Elizabeth McCollum
INTERIM CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmember Thomas

Sponsored by: Councilmembers, Thomas, Phillips, Gilmore Richardson,

Gauthier, Brooks, Harrity, O'Rourke, Driscoll, O'Neill and

Squilla