

Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 070063)

RESOLUTION

Recognizing, honoring, and memorializing WHAT (1340-AM) as the "Voice of The African-American Community" in Philadelphia on the occasion of its unfortunate demise.

WHEREAS, WHAT was founded in 1925; and

WHEREAS, In 1945 WHAT became the first U.S. radio station to hire a full-time black announcer; and

WHEREAS, In 1958, the Station becomes the first to program a regular show featuring a black woman, when talk-show queen Mary Mason made her debut; and

WHEREAS, Thereafter, WHAT became the premier African-American-oriented talk-radio station in Philadelphia; and

WHEREAS, In 1985, WHAT, began its long successful history of black ownership; and

WHEREAS, Led by morning host Mary Mason, along with prominent hosts: Thera Martin Connelly, Reggie Bryant, Johnny Sample, Karen Warrington, Elmer Smith, Al Butler, and others; this formidable team pushed the tough issues on crime, education, racism and countless other important issues that affect black Philadelphians everyday and helped define the political, social, and economic agenda for Philadelphia; and

WHEREAS, Many celebrities from the world of politics and entertainment were frequent callers: Governor Rendell, Mayor Street and Bill Cosby, just to name a few; now therefore

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, That We Recognize, Honor and Memorialize WHAT as the "Voice of the African-American Community" in Philadelphia on the occasion of Its Unfortunate Demise; and

RESOLUTION NO. 070063 continued

FURTHER RESOLVED, That an Engrossed copy of this resolution be presented
to those who gave us the "Voice of the African-American Community" while at WHAT
further evidencing the sincere admiration and gratitude of this legislative body.



RESOLUTION NO. 070063 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the first of February, 2007.

Anna C. Verna
PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Patricia Rafferty
CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmember Rizzo

Sponsored by: Council President Verna, Councilmembers Rizzo, Reynolds

Brown, Greenlee, DiCicco, Goode, Ramos, Savage, Kenney,

Blackwell, Krajewski, Miller, Clarke, Kelly and O'Neill