City of Philadelphia



Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 050699)

RESOLUTION

Congratulating the Philadelphia Phantoms Hockey Team for winning the 2005 Calder Cup Championship on June 10, 2005.

WHEREAS, On June 10, 2005, the Philadelphia Phantoms defeated the Chicago Wolves, 5-2, before a Calder Cup record of 20,103 fans at the Wachovia Center; and

WHEREAS, The Phantoms' victory came from a four game sweep over the Wolves in the best-of-seven championship finals, making this Philadelphia's second Calder Cup Championship in their nine year history; and

WHEREAS, After a scoreless 1st period, the Phantoms rallied in the 2nd period to outscore the Wolves 4-0 on goals by Patrick Sharp (1), Jon Sim (2), and Ben Stafford (1); and

WHEREAS, Patrick Sharp added another goal to Philadelphia's scoreboard in the $_3$ rd period to end the scoring at 5-2 and secure the Phantoms' title as the 2005 Calder Cup Champions; and

WHEREAS, Goalie Antero Niittymaki made 28 saves on 30 shots to assure the win and earn the Jack A. Butterfield Trophy as the most valuable player of the 2005 Calder Cup Playoffs; and

WHEREAS, We congratulate Head Coach John Stevens and his excellent staff for their hard work and outstanding coaching; now therefore

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, That Council does hereby congratulate the Philadelphia Phantoms on winning the 2005 Calder Cup Championship on June 10, 2005.

FURTHER RESOLVED, That an Engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the Philadelphia Phantoms further evidencing the sincere sentiments of this legislative body.

City of Philadelphia

RESOLUTION NO. 050699 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the sixteenth of June, 2005.

Anna C. Verna
PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Patricia Rafferty
CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmembers Kenney and Mariano

Sponsored by: Councilmembers Kenney, Mariano, Goode, Blackwell, Tasco,

O'Neill, Cohen, Krajewski, Ramos, Nutter, Clarke, Miller, Rizzo,

Reynolds Brown and DiCicco