City of Philadelphia



Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 051076)

RESOLUTION

Congratulating the participants in the Youth Tobacco-Free Leadership Institute.

WHEREAS, The Youth Tobacco-Free Institute is an initiative of the American Cancer Society which is dedicated to developing leaders in the fight against tobacco; and

WHEREAS, The program provides skills and motivation to young people ranging in age from 13 to 18 which help them make a difference in their communities through a tobacco control project; and

WHEREAS, Youth who participate in the Institute will learn the skills and knowledge necessary to become advocates, peer educators or community activists for key tobacco control issues in their communities; and

WHEREAS, The goal of the one-day training is to provide youth with the resources to empower them to use their own creativity and leadership to complete a project centered on a tobacco control issue; and

WHEREAS, The American Cancer Society will be conducting two free Institute trainings in Philadelphia on November 18 and November 19, 2005; now therefore

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, That we hereby congratulate this years's participants in the Youth Tobacco-Free Institute and look forward to their advocacy efforts as they work to make a difference in their communities.

FURTHER RESOLVED, That an Engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the American Cancer Society's Southeastern Pennsylvania Regional Office as a symbol of this body's sincere appreciation for its role in developing these young leaders.

City of Philadelphia

RESOLUTION NO. 051076 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the tenth of November, 2005.

> Anna C. Verna PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Patricia Rafferty CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

- Introduced by: Councilmember Nutter
- Sponsored by: Councilmembers Nutter, Miller, Goode, Reynolds Brown, Kelly, DiCicco, Kenney, Tasco, Blackwell, Council President Verna, Krajewski, Rizzo, Ramos, O'Neill and Clarke