

Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 080681)

RESOLUTION

The City Council of Philadelphia honors the NAACP's ACT-SO Competition – For its 30th Anniversary and the Four Philadelphian Medal Winners.

WHEREAS, ACT-SO is a national competition sponsored annually by the NAACP where high school students compete in 25 separate categories in the Sciences, Humanities and Performing and Visual Arts; and

WHEREAS, ACT-SO is an acronym for Afro-Cultural Technical and Scientific Olympics; and

WHEREAS, Talented young people from a wide array of disciplines took their place in history recently by being recognized as national winners in the NAACP ACT-SO competitions; and

WHEREAS, Four Proud Philadelphians brought home Three Gold Medals and a Bronze Medal; and

WHEREAS, Jordan Thomas, a Harpist won the Gold Medal Award in the classical instrumental category; and

WHEREAS, Dasha Savage, the Chemist won the Gold Medal Award in the chemistry/micro-chemistry category; and

WHEREAS, Nathaniel Jones, the Artist won the Gold Medal Award in the Drawing Category; and

WHEREAS, Jamesa Hines, the Biologist won the Bronze Medal Award in the biology/micro-biology; and

WHEREAS, More than 260,000 young people have benefited from initiative's development & inspiration since NAACP's ACT-SO Competition's inception.

RESOLUTION NO. 080681 continued

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, That City Council Hereby Recognize, Honor, And Celebrate NAACP's ACT-SO Competition – For Its 30th Anniversary.

FURTHER RESOLVED, That an Engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Kathleen Coleman-Smith, the ACT-SO chairperson for Philadelphia as further evidencing the sincere admiration and gratitude of this legislative body.

RESOLUTION NO. 080681 continued	

RESOLUTION NO. 080681 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the eighteenth of September, 2008.

Anna C. Verna
PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Patricia Rafferty
CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmember Miller

Sponsored by: Councilmembers Miller, Greenlee, Sanchez, Jones, Green,

Goode, Rizzo, Kenney, Council President Verna, Councilmembers Reynolds Brown, Blackwell, O'Neill,

Krajewski, DiCicco, Tasco, Clarke and Kelly