

### Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 250391)

#### RESOLUTION

Honoring and congratulating Principals from the 7th Councilmanic District for their excellence in leadership as recipients of the 2025 Lindback award for Distinguished Principals.

WHEREAS, The Lindback Award for Distinguished Principals celebrates and uplifts the work of exceptional school leaders in the School District of Philadelphia; and

WHEREAS, In 2025, the Lindback Foundation, in partnership with the Fund for the School District of Philadelphia, honored seven outstanding principals from across the City of Philadelphia for their leadership and impact on academic excellence, three of whom serve in the 7th Councilmanic District; and

WHEREAS, It is a remarkable distinction that three of the seven Principals honored Citywide for the 2025 Lindback Award for Distinguished Principals serve schools within the 7th Councilmanic District; and

WHEREAS, Each recipient of the Distinguished Principals Award was nominated by members of their school community and selected by a nomination selection committee based on their demonstrated excellence, dedication, and leadership; and

WHEREAS, Awilda Balbuena, a powerful advocate for representation and equity, has dedicated 17 years to educational leadership and has proudly served as principal of Gloria Casarez Elementary School for the past 15 years; and

WHEREAS, William Lawrence, a lifelong Philadelphian and educator since 2002, has served as principal of John Marshall Elementary School since 2017, where his leadership has driven significant progress, including a 15% increase in the school's Overall School Progress Report score, and an increase in students reading on grade level; and

RESOLUTION NO. 250391 continued

WHEREAS, Nichole Polk's career in education spans over two decades and is defined by an unwavering commitment to academic excellence and student success. As principal of Potter-Thomas School since 2019, she has focused on growing and developing leaders within her building to ensure that all stakeholders are part of a learning environment that is both collaborative and conducive to accelerating student achievement; and

WHEREAS, Each honoree received a \$20,000 award to support initiatives within their respective schools, underscoring the impact of their work and advancement of innovative educational programs for their school communities; and

WHEREAS, The continued partnership and generosity of the Lindback Foundation ensures that the dedication and passion of school leaders are acknowledged and supported, affirming their essential role in shaping the future of Philadelphia's youth; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, That it hereby honors, recognizes, and celebrates the recipients of the 2025 Lindback Award for Distinguished Principals serving within the 7th Councilmanic District for their dedicated leadership, unrelenting commitment to education, and outstanding contributions that have resulted in significant progress within their school communities and positively impacted the youth of District 7.

RESOLUTION NO. 250391 continued

RESOLUTION NO. 250391 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the twenty fourth day of April, 2025.

Kenyatta Johnson
PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Elizabeth McCollum
CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmember Lozada

Sponsored by: Councilmembers Lozada, Phillips, Gilmore Richardson,

O'Rourke, Driscoll and Squilla