City of Philadelphia



Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 000030)

RESOLUTION

Declaring February 14, 2000 as "Firefighters Recognition Day."

WHEREAS, Philadelphia Firefighters are in the front lines of defense against a variety of disasters that threaten life and property. Thousands of citizens owe their lives and safety to the dedication and professionalism of our City's two thousand four hundred twenty five (2425) fire personnel; and

WHEREAS, In 1999, the Philadelphia Fire Department responded to three hundred fifty one thousand and fifty one (351,051) emergency incidents. Due to a free smoke detector program, increased publicity and public education, excellent services and fire safety announcements, Philadelphians were able to defend against the tragedy of fire; and

WHEREAS, Deaths due to fire fell to a fifty-three year low of forty-two (42) in the City of Philadelphia as a result of the hard work and dedication of the city's firefighters; and

WHEREAS, We recognize the courage and commitment with which these individuals perform their duties, despite the dangers, stress and frustration which are their constant companions. We encourage all Philadelphians to take this opportunity to thank all firefighters and fire paramedics for the excellent job they do; therefore

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, That we hereby express our gratitude to all our firefighters and fire paramedics in our city and declare February 14, 2000, as Firefighters Recognition Day in Philadelphia.

FURTHER RESOLVED, That an Engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to George Casey, President of the Philadelphia Firefighters Union, as evidence of the sincere sentiments of this legislative body.

City of Philadelphia

RESOLUTION NO. 000030 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the third of February, 2000.

Anna C. Verna
PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Michael A. Decker CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmembers Krajewski, Kenney, Rizzo, DiCicco, Nutter,

Mariano, Cohen, Ortiz, Miller, Clarke, Tasco, Reynolds Brown

and O'Neill

Sponsored by: Councilmembers Krajewski, Kenney, Rizzo, DiCicco, Nutter,

Mariano, Cohen, Ortiz, Miller, Clarke, Tasco, Reynolds Brown

and O'Neill