## City of Philadelphia



## Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 030262)

## **RESOLUTION**

Honoring The Power Team

WHEREAS, For over twenty-five years The Power Team has been recognized as one of the most effective outreach programs in the country. Using feats of strength such as breaking baseball bats, bending horseshoes and steel bars, crushing concrete walls and ripping phone books in half, The Power Team draws the attention of young and old; and

WHEREAS, Although The Power Team is comprised of outstanding and unusual power body builders, the men and women use their skills to convey messages that go far beyond physical strength alone. They work with young people on inner and outer strength, and the positive effects of faith, serious goals and hope; and

WHEREAS, The Power Team has performed at over 17,000 school assemblies, and these amazing athletes have affected the lives of untold thousands of students in permanent and positive ways; and

WHEREAS, This year, the El Shaddai Christian Assembly will host a five day "Powering Up Youth" campaign. The Power Team will perform through April 27, 2003, and we encourage parents and their children to attend; now therefore

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, That we hereby honor The Power Team. We commend each member of the group for having such a long and proud history, and we welcome them to Philadelphia for this important work.

FURTHER RESOLVED, That an Engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Mr. John Jacobs and The Power Team as evidence of the deep respect and sincere admiration of this legislative body.

## City of Philadelphia

RESOLUTION NO. 030262 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the twenty-fifth of April, 2003.

Anna C. Verna
PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Michael A. Decker CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmember Tasco

Sponsored by: Councilmembers Ortiz, Mariano, Miller, Rizzo, Blackwell,

Cohen, Goode, Clarke, Council President Verna, DiCicco,

Nutter and Reynolds Brown