

Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 090276)

RESOLUTION

Celebrating the 50th Anniversary of the Percent for Art Programs.

WHEREAS, 50 years ago, in March of 1959, the Redevelopment Authority of the City of Philadelphia under Chairman Michael Von Moschzisker, established the first program in the United States requiring redevelopers of public land to devote 1% of construction costs to the fine arts, and in December of 1959, Philadelphia City Council under Mayor Richardson Dilworth passed an ordinance calling for 1% of all City building costs to be dedicated solely for the purpose of "Fine Arts" including sculptures, monuments, murals, mosaics, bas relief, stained glass and fountains; and

WHEREAS, In his testimony to the National Conference of Editorial Writers, Mr. Von Moschzisker argued that "Experts now find that beauty increases productivity. It necessarily follows that true functionalism in man-made edifices must include artistic expression. Sterility and her handmaiden, monotony, must be banished"; and

WHEREAS, The goal was and continues to be providing each public space with its own unique, creative and specific public identity adapting to and drawing inspiration from the building and the character of the surrounding environment; and

WHEREAS, The Philadelphia program became a model for the rest of the country prompting Baltimore in 1964, San Francisco in 1967 and a host of other cities in the U.S. and around the world to follow Philadelphia's lead, enacting similar legislation; and

WHEREAS, These Percent for Art programs have resulted in over 600 works of art and are in part responsible for Philadelphia holding the distinction of having the largest and most renowned public art collection in the world; and

WHEREAS, This vast and sweeping collection can be found at so many Philadelphia institutions such as the Airport, Zoo, Criminal Justice Center, high-rise commercial and residential towers as well as housing for families and the elderly, police and fire stations, parks, libraries and universities; and

RESOLUTION NO. 090276 continued

WHEREAS, Several public pieces have not only impacted the local community, but have garnered Philadelphia national attention, such as Claes Oldenburg's iconic Clothespin which stands at the corner of 15th and Market Streets, which since 1976 has served as a meeting place for locals, an attraction for tourists and a conversation piece for art critics and citizens alike; and

WHEREAS, In 2002, the One Percent for Fine Arts Program was challenged, but ultimately prevailed allowing future generations of Philadelphians to continue enjoying and adding to the collection of public art in the City; and

WHEREAS, The Percent for Art Programs have enlivened our public spaces, made our communities more attractive places to live, work, and visit, employed artists, fabricators and all manner of tradespeople, and represent the importance of public and private investment in the arts; and

WHEREAS, The Philadelphia's Percent for Art, Programs represent a significant example of why Philadelphia has been and will continue to be considered a world class destination for Arts & Culture; therefore, be it

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, That we hereby celebrate the 50th Anniversary of the One Percent for Fine Arts, and Percent for Art Programs.

FURTHER RESOLVED, That an Engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the Redevelopment Authority One Percent for Fine Arts Program and the City of Philadelphia Percent for Art Program as evidence of the sincere appreciation of this legislative body.

RESOLUTION NO. 090276 continued

RESOLUTION NO. 090276 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the second of April, 2009.

Anna C. Verna PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Patricia Rafferty CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmember Reynolds Brown

Sponsored by: Councilmembers Reynolds Brown, Greenlee, DiCicco, Rizzo, Jones, Goode, Council President Verna, Councilmembers Kenney, Sanchez, Clarke, Tasco, Kelly, Miller, Krajewski, Blackwell, Green and O'Neill