City of Philadelphia



Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 250351)

RESOLUTION

Recognizing the week of April 13-19, 2025, as National Public Safety Telecommunicators Week in the City of Philadelphia.

WHEREAS, Since 1981, the second week of April has been dedicated to the men and women who serve the public as public safety telecommunicators with the recognition of National Public Safety Telecommunicators Week; and

WHEREAS, National Public Safety Telecommunicators Week started in the Contra Costa County Sherriff's Office in California, and now is recognized in cities and offices across the country; and

WHEREAS, Public safety telecommunicators such as call takers, dispatchers and supervisors are the first voices you hear when you dial for help. Keeping civilians calm and providing life-saving guidance such as instructions on how to administer CPR or how to deliver birth; and

WHEREAS, Telecommunicators actively plan, coordinate and direct the response activities of emergency personnel, often working with multiple agencies to locate and assist those who are in distress; and

WHEREAS, Public safety telecommunicators serve as the nerve center for Fire, Police, and Emergency Medical Services responses throughout the City of Philadelphia, and these agencies would not be effective without the dedication and professionalism of these public safety telecommunicators; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, The week of April 13-19, 2025, be recognized as National Public Safety Telecommunicators Week in the City of Philadelphia as we celebrate the hard work and dedication of our public safety telecommunicators.

City of Philadelphia

RESOLUTION NO. 250351 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the tenth day of April, 2025.

Kenyatta Johnson
PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Elizabeth McCollum
CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmember Young

Sponsored by: Council President Johnson, Councilmembers Young, Bass,

Brooks, Driscoll, Gauthier, Gilmore Richardson, Harrity, Jones, Landau, Lozada, O'Neill, O'Rourke, Phillips, Squilla and

Thomas