City of Philadelphia



Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 080909)

RESOLUTION

The City Council Of Philadelphia *Calls Upon* The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania To Allow Pennsylvania Voters the Opportunity of No Excuse, in-person early voting at election offices or other satellite locations.

WHEREAS, More than half the states--31, to be exact--offer some sort of early voting; and

WHEREAS, Early voting differs from absentee voting in that voters may visit an election official's office or, in some states, other satellite voting locations, and cast a vote in person without offering an excuse for not being able to vote on election day; and

WHEREAS, Satellite voting locations vary by state, and may include other county and state offices (besides the election official's office), grocery stores, shopping malls, schools, libraries, and other locations; and

WHEREAS, Early voting generally is conducted on the same voting equipment used in the regular election, as opposed to absentee voting, which is conducted on mail-in paper ballots; and

WHEREAS, The time period for early voting varies from state to state, but most often it is available during a period of 10-21 days before the election, generally ending on the Friday or Saturday immediately preceding the election; and

WHEREAS, For an increasing number of Americans, "election day" is a historical relic. Instead, ballots are cast at the individual's convenience, up to three weeks before the scheduled date of the election.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT, The City Council Of Philadelphia *Calls Upon* The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania To Allow Pennsylvania Voters the Opportunity of No Excuse, in-person early voting at election offices or other satellite locations.

City of Philadelphia

RESOLUTION NO. 080909 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the twentieth of November, 2008.

> Anna C. Verna PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Patricia Rafferty CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmembers Miller and Sanchez

Sponsored by: Councilmembers Miller, Sanchez, Goode, Rizzo, Reynolds Brown, Greenlee, Krajewski, Green, Tasco, O'Neill, Council President Verna, Councilmembers DiCicco, Kenney, Clarke, Blackwell and Jones