

Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 010026)

RESOLUTION

Honoring the Philadelphia Eagles on the completion of a successful season and for their successful efforts in the post season.

WHEREAS, The Eagles completed the 2000 Season with an 11-5 record reversing their fortunes over the past few years; and

WHEREAS, The rebuilding program of Coach Andy Reid has made the Eagles a serious contender with bright prospects for the future; and

WHEREAS, Coach Reid was second in polling for Coach of the Year; and

WHEREAS, Quarterback Donovan McNabb was runner up for NFL MVP: and

WHEREAS, Jeremiah Trotter, Troy Vincent, Hugh Douglas, and Chad Lewis will be representing the Eagles in the Pro Bowl;

WHEREAS, Donovan McNabb passed for over 3,300 yards in the regular season and had a 58% completion average in addition to over 600 yards rushing; and

WHEREAS, The defense combined for over 50 sacks in the regular season, including 15 sacks by Hugh Douglas; and

WHEREAS, Although the Eagles dream season ended with a 20-10 loss to the Giants, there are many memories throughout the season for Eagles fans to be proud of including defeating Dallas twice and a playoff victory against the Tampa Bay Buccaneers; now therefore, be it

RESOLVED, BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF PHILADELPHIA, That we honor the Eagles on the completion of a successful season filled with many great memories for Philadelphia fans; and be it further

RESOLUTION NO. 010026 continued

RESOLVED, That we wish the team continued success in the years to come; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That an Engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the Eagles as evidence of the sincere respect and admiration of this legislative body.

RESOLUTION NO. 010026 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the twenty-third of January, 2001.

> Anna C. Verna PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Patricia Rafferty CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

- Introduced by: Councilmembers Mariano and Kenney
- Sponsored by: Councilmembers Rizzo, Krajewski, Council President Verna, Clarke, Goode, Longstreth, DiCicco, Reynolds Brown, Tasco, Ortiz, Blackwell, Nutter and O'Neill

RESOLUTION NO. 010026 continued