

Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 120346)

#### RESOLUTION

Recognizing and congratulating Brian Dawkins on the occasion of his retirement from the National Football League, where he played sixteen extraordinary seasons as a safety, thirteen of which were for the Philadelphia Eagles.

WHEREAS, Brian Dawkins was born and raised in Jacksonville, Florida, where he played football through high school. He then played for Clemson University in South Carolina, where he was a three-year starter who finished his college career with 247 tackles and 11 interceptions. He was designated an All-American in his senior year, was named the first-team strong safety on Clemson's all-centennial team in 1995, and was selected to the University's Athletic Hall of Fame in 2009; and

WHEREAS, In the second round of the National Football League's draft in 1996, Dawkins was recruited to play for the Philadelphia Eagles. As a rookie, he became the starting free safety and remained in that position for his thirteen seasons. He became the Defensive Captain and was instrumental in placing the Eagles among the best defensive teams in the league; and

WHEREAS, A talented and versatile player, in 2002 Dawkins became the first player in NFL history to record a sack, an interception, a forced fumble, and a touchdown reception in a single game. In 2004, after three consecutive NFC Championship defeats, he helped the Eagles advance to the Super Bowl where they lost by a slim margin to the New England Patriots. He finished his career with the Eagles starting 182 of 183 games, recording 898 tackles, 34 interceptions, and 21 sacks; and

WHEREAS, Dawkins announced his retirement on April 23, 2012. It is widely accepted that Dawkins was one of the three best safeties of his era, and the longest serving safety at sixteen seasons. He spent thirteen seasons with the Philadelphia Eagles and three years with the Denver Broncos. In 2017, he will be eligible for acceptance into the Hall of Fame; and

RESOLUTION NO. 120346 continued

WHEREAS, His career highlights and accolades also include membership in the 20/20 Club; member of the Philadelphia Eagles 75<sup>th</sup> Anniversary Team in 2007; six-time selection to Associated Press NFL All-Pro Team; champion of the National Football Conference Championship Game in 2004; winner of the Byron "Whizzer" White NFL Man of the Year Award in 2008; and member of the NFL 2000s All-Decade Team, which is chosen by members of the Hall of Fame Selection Committee; and

WHEREAS, Dawkins will be honored and his jersey, number twenty, will be retired in a ceremony to be aired on "Sunday Night Football," when the Eagles host the New York Giants on September 30, 2012 at Lincoln Financial Field; and

WHEREAS, Dawkins plans to stay involved in football, coaching for his son's high school team where they currently reside, in Denver, Colorado. On behalf of the City and fans of Philadelphia, this legislative body wishes to thank him for the passion, dedication and skill he brought to the field for thirteen years, and now wishes him good luck on the next stage of his life; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, That Brian Dawkins is hereby recognized and congratulated on the occasion of his retirement from the National Football League, where he played sixteen extraordinary seasons as a safety, thirteen of which were for the Philadelphia Eagles.

FURTHER RESOLVED, That an Engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Brian Dawkins as evidence of the sincere sentiments of this legislative body.

RESOLUTION NO. 120346 continued

RESOLUTION NO. 120346 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the third of May, 2012.

> Darrell L. Clarke PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Michael A. Decker CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmember Kenney

Sponsored by: Councilmembers Kenney, Tasco, Goode, Johnson, Bass, Henon, Greenlee, Jones, Council President Clarke, Councilmembers Reynolds Brown, O'Brien, Quiñones Sánchez, Green, Oh, O'Neill, Squilla and Blackwell