City of Philadelphia



Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 250305)

RESOLUTION

Appointing Ericka Stewart to the Citizen's Police Oversight Commission.

WHEREAS, Bill No. 210074 (approved June 9, 2021), set forth a new version of Chapter 21-1200 of The Philadelphia Code, entitled "Citizens Police Oversight Commission," which established the composition and powers and duties of the Commission, an independent oversight agency designed to ensure the just, transparent, and efficient administration of criminal justice in Philadelphia through fair and timely investigation into and oversight of conduct, policies, and practices of the Police Department and its officers; and

WHEREAS, Section 21-1203 of the Code provides for the appointment of a Selection Panel to nominate nine members for appointment by Council to the Commission; and

WHEREAS, A Selection Panel of five members met over a course of 32 weeks and carried out a nomination process by, among other things, soliciting applications and interviewing candidates, and on March 19, 2025, recommended 5 individuals to Council for appointment to the Commission; and

WHEREAS, Council agrees with the recommendation of Ericka Stewart to be a member of the Commission; and

WHEREAS, Section 21-1203 of the Code provides that four members shall initially serve for twoyear terms and five members shall initially serve for four-year terms, which terms shall begin upon the date of adoption of the first resolution appointing a member to the Commission; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, That it hereby appoints Ericka Stewart to the Citizens Police Oversight Commission, to serve a four-year term.

City of Philadelphia

RESOLUTION NO. 250305 continued

City of Philadelphia

RESOLUTION NO. 250305 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the tenth day of April, 2025.

Kenyatta Johnson PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Elizabeth McCollum
CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmember Jones

Sponsored by: Councilmember Jones