City of Philadelphia



Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 041013)

RESOLUTION

Honoring the 28th Anniversary of the National Black Caucus of State Legislators

WHEREAS, The National Black Caucus of State Legislators ("NBCSL") was formed in 1976; and

WHEREAS, Throughout its history, the NBCSL has strived to accomplish its primary mission to develop, conduct, and promote education and training programs designed to enhance the effectiveness of its members as they consider legislation and issues that impact, either directly or indirectly, upon the general welfare of African American constituents within their respective jurisdictions; and

WHEREAS, NBCSL serves as a national network and clearinghouse for the discussion, dissemination, and exchange of ideas and information among African American state legislators and their staffs; and

WHEREAS, NBCSL has held summits and addressed a wide variety of issues such as early childhood education, veterans affairs, housing, criminal justice, and health concerns; and

WHEREAS, NBCSL works with the African American organizations, community activists, and political and religious leaders to help build and sustain a balance between corporate, government, and political entities; now therefore

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, That we welcome the National Black Caucus of State Legislators to Philadelphia for its annual conference and extend our congratulations on its 28th Anniversary.

FURTHER RESOLVED, That an Engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the National Black Caucus of State Legislators as a symbol of this legislative body's support for its work and commitment to help the African American community.

City of Philadelphia

RESOLUTION NO. 041013 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the eighteenth of November, 2004.

Anna C. Verna
PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Patricia Rafferty
CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmembers Tasco, Nutter, Miller and Mariano

Sponsored by: Councilmembers Tasco, Nutter, Miller, Mariano, Rizzo,

DiCicco, Goode, Reynolds Brown, Krajewski, O'Neill, Ramos, Blackwell, Clarke, Kenney, Kelly and Council President Verna