

Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 080667)

RESOLUTION

Congratulating the Philadelphia Soul on the occasion of their ArenaBowl championship.

WHEREAS, On July 27, 2008, the Philadelphia Soul won their first ArenaBowl championship, defeating the San Jose SaberCats, 59-56 in ArenaBowl XXII; and

WHEREAS, Quarterback Matt D'Orazio completed 26 of 43 passes for seven touchdowns and no interceptions and rushed for another touchdown and was named the game's most valuable player; and

WHEREAS, Wide receiver Chris Jackson caught 11 passes for 146 yards and three touchdowns and was named the offensive player of the game; and

WHEREAS, The Soul scored on all six of their first-half possessions; and

WHEREAS, The Soul defense forced four turnovers, including an interception, two fumbles and a turnover-on-downs, as well as a safety; and

WHEREAS, The Soul, in their fifth year of existence, set a franchise record with 13 regular-season wins, finishing 13-3; and

WHEREAS, The Soul drew 131,817 fans during the 2008 regular season, their highest total since 2004 and averaged 16,477 fans per game, a sign of the team's increasing popularity in Philadelphia and the region; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, That Council does hereby congratulate the Philadelphia Soul on the occasion of their first ArenaBowl championship.

RESOLUTION NO. 080667 continued

FURTHER RESOLVED, That an Engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Jon Bon Jovi, owner of the Philadelphia Soul, and Ron Jaworski, president of the Philadelphia Soul as evidence of the sincere sentiments and recognition of this legislative body.

RESOLUTION NO. 080667 continued			

RESOLUTION NO. 080667 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the eighteenth of September, 2008.

Anna C. Verna PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Patricia Rafferty
CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmember Kenney

Sponsored by: Councilmembers Kenney, DiCicco, Greenlee, Sanchez,

Goode, Tasco, Krajewski, Blackwell, Reynolds Brown and

Miller