City of Philadelphia



Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 010114)

RESOLUTION

Honoring the Frankford High School Pioneers Wrestling Team for winning their fifth consecutive Public League Championship.

WHEREAS, The Frankford High School Wrestling Team defeated the Central High School Lancers 35-24 to win their fifth consecutive public league title; and

WHEREAS, The victory was made possible by Marquette Williams who was injured with a ligament bruise yet managed to win the 162 pound match on points; and

WHEREAS, The 162 pound match along with the 154 pound match allowed Frankford to jump to a 19-0 lead over Central and to defeat the Lancers who broke Frankford's 48 match Public League winning streak earlier in the season; and

WHEREAS, Undefeated heavyweight Shawn Williams secured a pin thirty seconds into his match to take victory out of the reach of Central; and

WHEREAS, In securing the win Williams scored his 99th victory and showed why he is ranked first in his weight class in Southeastern Pennsylvania; and

WHEREAS, Coach Bob Peffle has successfully built a wrestling dynasty at Frankford; now therefore

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, That we honor the Frankford High School Wrestling Team on their fifth consecutive Public League championship; and

FURTHER RESOLVED, That an Engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the Frankford High School Pioneers Wrestling Team and Coach Bob Peffle as evidence of the sincere respect and admiration of this legislative body.

City of Philadelphia

RESOLUTION NO. 010114 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the twenty-second of February, 2001.

Anna C. Verna
PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Patricia Rafferty
CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmembers Mariano and Krajewski

Sponsored by: Councilmembers Ortiz, Blackwell, Nutter, Clarke, Tasco,

Goode, Reynolds Brown, Council President Verna, Rizzo,

Longstreth, Miller, Kenney, DiCicco and O'Neill