City of Philadelphia



Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 010704)

RESOLUTION

Honoring the Oak Lane Youth Association.

WHEREAS, The Council of the City of Philadelphia is pleased to honor the Oak Lane Youth Association on the special occasion of its 30th Anniversary.

WHEREAS, Although the challenges are different in the new Millennium, the principles of Oak Lane Youth Association remained unaltered in that involved adults care very deeply and are willing to contribute something positive to benefit the children; and

WHEREAS, True to the motto "dedicated to you," the Association today is proud and pleased to honor its youth who represent the backbone of our community. We commend the dedicated commitment of those who understand that premise and willingly volunteer their time and talents to that end; and

WHEREAS, The Oak Lane Youth Association has moved forward with the times during the last three decades. So, too, has its ambition to motivate others to take an interest in the youth of the community by offering them a choice, a second option and a positive experience through participation in football, tennis, track, basketball, and by providing academic tutoring as well; now therefore

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, That we hereby honor and commend the Oak Lane Youth Association. We wish all its members and participants a joyous 30th Anniversary celebration.

FURTHER RESOLVED, That an Engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Rico Joseph, President of the Oak Lane Youth Association as evidence of the sincere respect and admiration of this legislative body.

City of Philadelphia

RESOLUTION NO. 010704 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the twenty-ninth of November, 2001.

Anna C. Verna PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Marie B. Hauser CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmembers Tasco and Goode

Sponsored by: Councilmembers Tasco, Goode, Rizzo, Blackwell, Reynolds Brown, Nutter, Miller, Mariano, Ortiz, Clarke, Longstreth, DiCicco, Krajewski, Kenney and O'Neill