

### Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 240044)

#### RESOLUTION

Honoring and congratulating the Philadelphia restaurants and chefs named as semifinalists for the 2024 James Beard Awards.

WHEREAS; The James Beard Foundation announced its 2024 Restaurant and Chef Awards semifinalists on January 24, 2024, in advance of the nominees being announced in April for the Awards in June 2024; and

WHEREAS; Philadelphia has a rich and diverse history of hospitality, culture and cuisine, with numerous award winning restaurants and bars; and

WHEREAS; Three Philadelphia restaurants and chefs were winners of the 2023 James Beard Awards, and Philadelphia was recognized again as a food destination with the 2024 list of semifinalists; and

WHEREAS; Dionicio Jiménez, Cantina La Martina was named as a semifinalist for Outstanding Chef; Yun Fuentes of Bolo was named as a semifinalist for Emerging Chef; My Loup was named as a finalist for Best New Restaurant; Isgro Pastries was named as a finalist for Outstanding Bakery; a.kitchen+bar was named as a semifinalist for Outstanding Wine and Other Beverages Program; and

WHEREAS; Carlos Aparacio of El Chingon; Jesse Ito of Royal Sushi & Izakaya; Randy Rucker of River Twice; and Omar Tate of Honeysuckle Provisions were named as semi-finalists for Best Chef Mid-Atlantic; and

WHEREAS; These chefs and restaurants are being recognized as semifinalists for one of the nation's most prestigious culinary honors for their accomplishments in creating exceptional food as well as their commitment to community, racial and gender equity, sustainable food systems and building community and culture through food; response and addressing the racial justice crisis which impacts Black and Brown people and neighborhoods; now, therefore, be it

RESO	LUTION NO	240044	continued
NESU	LU 1 IU IV IV.	. 24UU44	· COHUHUCU

•	HAT THE COUNCIL e Philadelphia restaur rd Awards.		•

RESOLUTION NO. 240044 continued						

RESOLUTION NO. 240044 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the twenty-fifth day of January, 2024.

KENYATTA JOHNSON PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Michael A. Decker CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmember Landau

Sponsored by: Councilmembers Landau, Gauthier, Phillips, Young, O'Rourke,

Driscoll, Thomas, Harrity, O'Neill, Gilmore Richardson, Ahmad

and Brooks