City of Philadelphia



Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 070178)

RESOLUTION

Authorizing City Council's Committee on the Disabled and Handicapped to forward it's findings and recommendations to Pennsylvania Senators, Arlen Specter and Robert Casey, Jr., for their use and application in addressing the pressing need in the Delaware Valley for a certified rehabilitation medical facility.

WHEREAS, Philadelphia's City Council's Committee on the Disabled and Handicapped has been authorized to hold hearings to determine how many disabled and/ or handicapped veterans, especially Iraq and Afghanistan War veterans, are living in the Delaware Valley, and Philadelphia specifically; and

WHEREAS, The Committee on the Disabled and Handicapped has also been authorized to further investigate and determine whether or not these disabled veterans, in light of the negative findings at Walter Reed Army Medical Center would seek to have the Delaware Valley certified a regional rehabilitation location and to have a rehabilitation medical facility in the Delaware Valley certified as an exclusive rehabilitation medical facility; now therefore

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, That Council hereby authorizes City Council's Committee on the Disabled and Handicapped to forward it's findings and recommendations to Pennsylvania Senators, Arlen Specter and Robert Casey, Jr., for their use and application in addressing the pressing need in the Delaware Valley for a certified rehabilitation medical facility.

City of Philadelphia

RESOLUTION NO. 070178 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the eighth of March, 2007.

Anna C. Verna
PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Patricia Rafferty
CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmember Campbell

Sponsored by: Councilmembers Campbell, DiCicco, Greenlee, Goode,

Kenney, Blackwell, Council President Verna, Councilmembers Tasco, Miller, Savage, Clarke, Ramos, Krajewski, Kelly,

O'Neill, Reynolds Brown and Rizzo