City of Philadelphia



Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 040394)

RESOLUTION

Recognizing that the Vietnamese-American Community in Philadelphia chooses to have the golden yellow flag with three red stripes recognized as the official flag of their community.

WHEREAS, Philadelphia is rich in its ethnic diversity and has historically served as a home to many groups of immigrants coming to this country seeking freedom and opportunity; and

WHEREAS, A significant number of Vietnamese-Americans have chosen to make Philadelphia, the *City of Brotherly Love*, their home; and

WHEREAS, Vietnamese-Americans in Philadelphia have made immeasurable contributions to the social, cultural and economic fabric of our city; and

WHEREAS, Vietnamese-Americans in Philadelphia embrace the yellow flag with three red stripes because of its long history as a symbol of resilience, freedom and democracy in the Vietnamese-American Community throughout Philadelphia and elsewhere; and

WHEREAS, Thirty-eight other cities in the United States have adopted resolutions or issued proclamations to recognize the yellow flag with the three red stripes as the official flag of the Vietnamese-American community; now therefore

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, That City Council recognizes that the Vietnamese-American Community chooses to have the golden yellow flag with three red stripes recognized as the official flag of their community; and

FURTHER RESOLVED, That an Engrossed copy of this resolution be prepared and presented as the sincere sentiment of this legislative body.

City of Philadelphia

RESOLUTION NO. 040394 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the fifteenth of April, 2004.

Anna C. Verna PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Patricia Rafferty CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

- Introduced by: Councilmembers Rizzo, Kenney, Mariano and DiCicco
- Sponsored by: Councilmembers Rizzo, Kenney, Mariano, DiCicco, Goode, Miller, Krajewski, Reynolds Brown, Council President Verna, Councilmembers Clarke, Ramos, Tasco, Nutter, Blackwell, O'Neill, Kelly, and Cohen