City of Philadelphia



Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 240037)

RESOLUTION

Honoring the life and legacy of Rich "Yank" Yankowitz, the legendary Public League head coach at Dobbins Technical High School.

WHEREAS, Rich "Yank" Yankowitz passed away on Friday, January 19, 2024; and

WHEREAS, Rich Yankowitz coached high school basketball, cross country and baseball in the Philadelphia Public League for over 40 years. He became one of the most prolific coaches in the city's history; and compiled a 486-269 record over an epic 34 years as the head basketball coach at Dobbins High School; and

WHEREAS, In addition to basketball, Yankowitz coached baseball, soccer, cross-country and track-and-field for Dobbins where he was also tutor, motivator and family counselor to his student-athletes; and

WHEREAS, Yankowitz was a product of Overbrook High School and West Chester University and a 40 year coach and teacher in Philadelphia Public Schools; and

WHEREAS, Despite in theory retiring, Yankowitz went on to be an assistant baseball coach at Girard Academic Music Program, helped coach the Carver High School of Engineering & Sciences boys basketball team, and officiated at high school cross country events; and

WHEREAS, In a career that involved basketball names like Dawn Staley, Hank Gathers, Doug Overton and countless other Philadelphia basketball luminaries, Yankowitz may be best remembered for being a mentor to many, an ally after tough losses and for always finding ways to give student athletes as many chances as he could; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, That we honor the life and legacy of Rich "Yank" Yankowitz, the legendary Public League head coach at Muriel Dobbins Technical High School.

City of Philadelphia

RESOLUTION NO. 240037 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the twenty-fifth day of January, 2024.

KENYATTA JOHNSON PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Michael A. Decker CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmembers Thomas and Young

Sponsored by: Councilmembers Thomas, Young, Driscoll, Bass, Phillips,

Gauthier, O'Rourke and Landau