City of Philadelphia



Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 120357)

RESOLUTION

Recognizing and celebrating May 7th to 11th 2012 as National Correctional Employees Week in Philadelphia.

WHEREAS, Correctional Officers are a vital partner in assuring the public safety of our City; by carrying out their duties effectively, the men and women who work at the Philadelphia Prisons are protecting many communities, as well as managing and enabling the smooth function of our criminal justice system; and

WHEREAS, The employees of the Philadelphia Prison System manage a population of over 8,000 inmates, twenty-four hours a day, 365 days a year; and

WHEREAS, The stress on Correctional Officers is affected by understaffing, extensive overtime, rotating shift work, and poor public image; and

WHEREAS, Our correctional employees provide the guidance, instruction, skills, and opportunities within a controlled environment, that allow people to remake their lives, and reconnect with their families and communities; and

WHEREAS, According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, correctional officers have one of the highest rates of non-fatal on-the-job injuries; and

WHEREAS, No group of public servants have more difficult or less publicly visible jobs than the men and women who work in our correctional facilities, psychiatric wards, federal and state prisons, parole and probation offices; now therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED, BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, That it hereby recognizes May 7th to 11th 2012 as National Correctional Employees Week in Philadelphia.

FURTHER RESOLVED, That an Engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Commissioner of Prisons Louis Giola as evidence of the sincere admiration and sentiments of this legislative body.

City of Philadelphia

RESOLUTION NO. 120357 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the third of May, 2012.

Darrell L. Clarke PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Michael A. Decker CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmember Jones

Sponsored by: Councilmembers Jones, Henon, Johnson, Tasco, Oh, Blackwell, Squilla and O'Brien