## City of Philadelphia



## Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 030856)

## **RESOLUTION**

Recognizing the week of December 29, 2003 through January 3, 2004 as "Haitian Independence Week" to celebrate Haiti's 200th Anniversary as an independent nation.

WHEREAS, There are over 50,000 Haitian immigrants and refugees in the City of Philadelphia seeking a better life for themselves and their children; and

WHEREAS, Many Haitian residents and persons of Haitian decent are leaders in the fields of law, government, medicine, education, and professional services, enabling them to contribute to the rebuilding of our distressed communities through home ownership, entrepreneurship, and public service; and

WHEREAS, The county of Haiti was the first colony in the Western hemisphere to win its independence on January 1, 1804, becoming the first independent country in Latin America to renounce slavery and end human suffering; and

WHEREAS, Haiti continues to strive as an independent nation in the face of insurmountable obstacles such as poverty, limited trade opportunities, HIV/AIDS, and a large youth population; and

WHEREAS, The Haitian Community Culture/Development Abroad is the lead community organization servicing the Haitian community here in Philadelphia and they will be hosting several events throughout the week in commemoration of the 200th Anniversary; now therefore

RESOLVED, THAT THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, Hereby recognize the week of December 29, 2003 through January 3, 2004 as "Haitian Independence Week."

## City of Philadelphia

RESOLUTION NO. 030856 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the eighteenth of December, 2003.

Anna C. Verna
PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Patricia Rafferty
CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmembers Blackwell and Cohen

Sponsored by: Council President Verna, Councilmembers Blackwell, Cohen,

Ortiz, Goode, Tasco, Rizzo, Kenney, Reynolds Brown, Miller,

Nutter, DiCicco, Clarke, Krajewski and O'Neill