

Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 220181)

RESOLUTION

Recognizing and honoring Michael J. Bradley Jr. as the Grand Marshal of the 250th Annual Philadelphia St. Patrick's Day Parade.

WHEREAS, Michael Bradley attended Monsignor Bonner High School and Strath Haven High School before going on to Penn State University to obtain his Bachelor of Science in Business; and

WHEREAS, He would hold multiple positions with Acme Markets and Kistler Tiffany Group before becoming CEO and Managing Partner of Bradley Investment Group L.L.C. in 1997; and

WHEREAS, Michael would also be elected President of M.J. Bradley Co. Inc. in 1994 and then be elected as their CEO in 2000; and

WHEREAS, Penn State University has included Michael as a key stakeholder on multiple committees including the Penn State University Advisory Board, the Penn State University Executive Board, and the Penn State University President's Club; and

WHEREAS, For his dedicated time to the University he was also awarded the Mount Nittany Society 2008 Lifetime Award which represents the pinnacle of philanthropy and is awarded to individuals with an exceptional cumulative giving to the University; and

WHEREAS, Michael is also heavily involved with Irish events and societies, he was named the Mayo Association of Philadelphia's Outstanding Member in 2007, awarded the AOH LAOH Division 87 Port Richmond Slainte Award, named the Philadelphia Fraternal Order of Police's Emerald Society Man of the Year in 2010, named the Philadelphia Irish Immigration and Pastoral Center's Philly Irish Person of the Year in 2007, and named to the Delaware Valley's Irish Hall of Fame in 2007; and

WHEREAS, His involvement in the area extends to coordinating events and creating opportunities for the Irish community's presence to be known, he is the Philadelphia St. Patrick's

RESOLUTION NO. 220181 continued

Day Parade Director since 2004, established the Phillies' Irish Night, and is a board member of the Irish Memorial Philadelphia; and

WHEREAS, The theme of the 2022 Philadelphia St. Patrick's Day Parade is "250 Years of Faith, Family, Friendship and Heritage"; and

WHEREAS, Joining Michael J. Bradley Jr. as the Grand Marshal, the Ring of Honor members for the 2022 St. Patrick's Day parade include Joe Ashdale, Brian Coleman, Joe Driscoll, Ron Fisher, Ryan Heenan, Jeanne Hermley, Deneen McCaffery, Sgt. James O'Conner, Elizabeth Sees, Susan Kelly Von Medicus and Sr. Maureen McDermott IHM; and

WHEREAS, The 2022 Philadelphia St. Patrick's Day Parade would not be possible without the continued support and dedication of the Mayo Association, the Donegal Society, the Derry Society, the Tyrone Society, the Cavan Society, the Galway Society, the Irish Society, the Second Street Irish Society, the Friendly Sons of St. Patrick, the Irish Memorial, the Brehon Law Society, the Irish Network of Philadelphia, The Irish Edition, the Gaelic Athletic Association, the Gray's Ferry Irish Society, the Philadelphia Emerald Society, the Cairdeas Irish Brigade, the St. Patrick's Day Observance Association, and all the individual chapters of the Ancient Order of Hibernians and Ladies Ancient Order of Hibernians throughout Philadelphia and the Delaware Valley; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, THAT THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, Does hereby recognize and honor Michael J. Bradley Jr. as the Grand Marshal of the 250th Annual Philadelphia St. Patrick's Day Parade.

FURTHER RESOLVED, That an Engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Michael J. Bradley Jr. as evidence of the sincere respect and admiration of this legislative body.

| RESOLUTION NO. 220181 continued | | | |
|---------------------------------|--|--|--|
| | | | |
| | | | |
| | | | |
| | | | |
| | | | |
| | | | |
| | | | |
| | | | |
| | | | |
| | | | |
| | | | |
| | | | |
| | | | |
| | | | |
| | | | |
| | | | |
| | | | |
| | | | |

RESOLUTION NO. 220181 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the third day of March, 2022.

Darrell L. Clarke
PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Michael A. Decker CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmember Squilla

Sponsored by: Councilmember Squilla