City of Philadelphia



Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 221020)

RESOLUTION

Honoring and congratulating Champion of the Week, St. Joseph's Preparatory high school football team, for their success in winning a PIAA 6A title, in Harrisburg.

WHEREAS, The St. Joseph's Hawks beat Harrisburg High School in a landslide victory, 42 to 7 on Saturday, December 10, 2022.; and

WHEREAS, After a hard loss in the state finals in the 2021 season, the Hawks came back with a vengeance this year, securing the fourth out of the last five PIAA 6A titles; and

WHEREAS, In the first eleven plays of the game, the Hawks scored three times and gained two-hundred yards of total offense; and

WHEREAS, By halftime St. Joseph's had secured the win with a score of 42 to 0 over Harrisburg; and

WHEREAS, The team's hard-work secured the Hawks their seventh State Championship title in the school's team history; and

WHEREAS, The St. Joseph's Prep mission is, "as a Catholic, Jesuit, urban, college preparatory school is to develop the minds, hearts, souls, and characters of young men in their pursuit of becoming men for and with others," and has demonstrated this with excellence in both athletics and academics; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, That we hereby Honor and congratulate St. Joseph's Preparatory high school football team, for their success in winning a PIAA 6A title, in Harrisburg.

FURTHER RESOLVED, That an Engrossed copy be presented to the St. Joseph Prep Football Team further evidencing the sincere admiration and respect of this legislative body.

City of Philadelphia

RESOLUTION NO. 221020 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the fifteenth day of December, 2022

Darrell L. Clarke
PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Michael A. Decker CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmember Thomas

Sponsored by: Councilmembers Thomas, Driscoll, Gilmore Richardson,

Vaughn, O'Neill, Bass, Oh, Squilla, Lozada and Brooks