

#### Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 230065)

#### RESOLUTION

Honoring and celebrating the 2023 Saint Patrick's Day Parade.

WHEREAS, The 251st Philadelphia Saint Patrick's Day Parade will take place on March 12, 2023; and

WHEREAS, The first documented Saint Patrick's Day Parade in the City of Philadelphia took place in 1771; and

WHEREAS, The Parade, from its inception is meant to celebrate freedom from tyranny and oppression of the Irish People and culture; and

WHEREAS, The City of Philadelphia has one of the oldest, largest, and most active communities of Irish anywhere in the United States and across the globe; and

WHEREAS, Irish immigrants and their descendants have played a critical role in the history of the City from culture, business, sports, civil rights, labor, politics, and food; and

WHEREAS, The Saint Patrick's Day Parade has the largest number of participants with approximately 20,000 individuals from more than 200 groups including youth groups, marching bands, dance groups, and Irish Associations; and

WHEREAS, Thousands of spectators line the Parkway each year to enjoy the Parade; and

WHEREAS, Danny Harrell will serve as Grand Marshall for the 2023 Parade; and

WHEREAS, All Philadelphians are welcome to celebrate Saint Patrick's Day, the history of our City, and the history of the Irish Diaspora on March 12, 2023; and

RESOLVED, THAT THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, Hereby honors and celebrates the 2023 Saint Patrick's Day Parade; now, therefore, be it

RESOLUTION NO. 230065 continued

FURTHER RESOLVED, That an Engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the Saint Patrick's Day Observance Association as evidence of the admiration and respect of this body.

RESOLUTION NO. 230065 continued

RESOLUTION NO. 230065 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the second day of February, 2022.

Darrell L. Clarke PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Michael A. Decker CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

- Introduced by: Councilmember Driscoll
- Sponsored by: Councilmembers Driscoll, Johnson, O'Neill, Harrity, Bass, Squilla, Gilmore Richardson, Vaughn, Jones, Oh, Thomas, Brooks and Phillips