City of Philadelphia



Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 080341)

RESOLUTION

In solemn recognition during the week of May 2 through May 9, 2008 as the Annual Remembrance of the Six Million Jewish Martyrs, who perished during the Holocaust.

WHEREAS, Over half a century ago, six million Jews were murdered in the Nazi Holocaust as part of a systematic program of genocide, and millions of other people suffered as victims of Nazism; and

WHEREAS, The people of the City of Philadelphia should continually rededicate themselves to the principle of equal justice for all people; and

WHEREAS, The people of the City of Philadelphia should remain eternally vigilant against all tyranny, and recognize that bigotry provides a breeding ground for tyranny to flourish; and

WHEREAS, The Memorial Committee for the Six Million Jewish Martyrs has chosen as the theme for this year's Memorial, "As the Branches of This Tree, So the Branches of Our People: Remember the Children." We applaud the Committee for the Honor they will bestow on the memory of those who perished and on those who survived to build and strengthen life in Philadelphia and other communities; now therefore

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, That by virtue of this Citation, we hereby recognize the week of May 2 through May 9, 2008 as the Annual Remembrance of the Six Million Jewish Martyrs.

FURTHER RESOLVED, We further recognize the horror of the Holocaust, and extend to the Memorial Committee the respect and admiration of this legislative body.

City of Philadelphia

RESOLUTION NO. 080341 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the twenty-seventh of March, 2008.

Anna C. Verna
PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Patricia Rafferty
CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmember O'Neill and DiCicco

Sponsored by: Councilmembers O'Neill, DiCicco, Goode, Rizzo, Clarke,

Greenlee, Council President Verna, Councilmembers Jones, Kelly, Blackwell, Sanchez, Tasco, Miller, Krajewski, Green,

Kenney and Reynolds Brown