

Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 090487)

RESOLUTION

Nominating 25 individuals for consideration by the Mayor as appointees to the Commission on Parks and Recreation.

WHEREAS, On June 19, 2008, Council adopted Resolution No. 080181 proposing an amendment to the Philadelphia Home Rule Charter ("the Charter Amendment"); and

WHEREAS, On November 4, 2008, the voters of Philadelphia approved the Charter Amendment; and

WHEREAS, Pursuant to the Charter Amendment, effective July 1, 2009, a new unified Department of Parks and Recreation will be established; the Fairmount Park Commission will cease to exist; and a Commission on Parks and Recreation will be created, with new and substantial responsibilities; and

WHEREAS, The Charter Amendment required that the Council President, no later than February 1, 2009, "by public notice, solicit applicants to serve on the Commission"; that "[t]he application period shall be open for no less than thirty days, after which the Council shall hold a public hearing on the proposed nominations"; and that "[n]o later than ninety days after the close of applications, the Council, by resolution, shall forward to the Mayor no fewer than 18 and no more than 25 nominations"; and

WHEREAS, On January 28, 2009, Mayor Nutter and members of City Council held a press conference announcing the beginning of the application process; and

WHEREAS, On January 29 and 30, 2009, notice was published in six newspapers which solicited applications for the Commission; stated that the deadline to apply was March 9, 2009; and directed applicants to an Application Form available at www.phila.gov, www.phila.gov/citycouncil, www.phila.gov/recreation, www.fairmountpark.org, at the Chief Clerk's Office (Room 402 City Hall), and at Philadelphia libraries, recreation centers, and Fairmount Park facilities; and

RESOLUTION NO. 090487 continued

WHEREAS, In response to this and other announcements, more than 200 individuals submitted detailed applications; and

WHEREAS, On January 29, 2009, Council adopted Resolution No. 090057 authorizing Council's standing Committee on Parks, Recreation and Cultural Affairs ("the Committee") to hold the public hearing required by the Charter Amendment and to submit a report to Council setting forth the Committee's recommended list of nominations for submission to the Mayor; and

WHEREAS, On March 18, March 19, March 24, and March 26, 2009, the Committee held public hearings at which 149 applicants presented their credentials; and

WHEREAS, On June 1, 2009, the Committee adopted a report (Attachment "A" hereto) setting forth its recommended list of 25 nominees for consideration by the Council; now, therefore,

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, THAT Pursuant to Section 3-905 of the Philadelphia Home Rule Charter, and upon recommendation of the Committee on Parks, Recreation and Cultural Affairs pursuant to Resolution 090057, the 25 individuals whose names are listed in Attachment "A" hereto are hereby nominated for consideration by the Mayor as potential appointees to the Commission on Parks and Recreation.

RESOLVED FURTHER THAT The Chief Clerk of City Council is hereby directed to transmit a certified copy of this Resolution to the Mayor.

RESOLUTION NO. 090487 continued

Attachment A

Committee on Parks Recreation & Cultural Affairs Report on Resolution 090057

We hereby recommend that Council submit the following list of nominations to the Mayor:

Noel Abejo **Charles Baltimore** Max Berger Luther Collins Andrew Denison Nancy Goldenberg Debra Wolf Goldstein Jeffrey Hackett **David Hollenberg** Alexander "Pete" Hoskins John B. Kelly, III Anthony Langford Matthew McClure Michael McCrea Leslie Anne Miller Carla Puppin Carol Rice **Carlos Rodriguez** Wendy Rosen James Straw Sarah Clark Stuart Joseph Syrnick **Ronald Thomas** Maria Walker L. Trena Woodson

RESOLUTION NO. 090487 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the fourth of June, 2009.

Anna C. Verna PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Patricia Rafferty CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

- Introduced by: Councilmembers Reynolds Brown and Jones
- Sponsored by: Councilmembers Reynolds Brown, Jones, Clarke, Miller, Goode, Blackwell, Council President Verna, Councilmembers Kenney, DiCicco, Tasco, Rizzo, O'Neill, Greenlee, Sanchez, Krajewski and Kelly