

Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 030029)

RESOLUTION

Honoring Holy Family College on being granted University status by the Pennsylvania Department of Education.

WHEREAS, Holy Family College was formed in 1954 at Grant Avenue and Frankford Avenue in Northeast Philadelphia; and

WHEREAS, In 1995, the campus of 3,000 opened its first satellite campus in Newtown, Bucks County and is in the process of developing another satellite campus in Bristol, Bucks County; and

WHEREAS, Because of the growth of the College and its attainment of University status, Holy Family will leave behind a successful legacy in the National Association of Interscholastic Athletics and join Division II of the National Collegiate Athletic Association; and

WHEREAS, To become a University, Holy Family had to meet rigorous standards including offering undergraduate degrees in both arts and sciences, offer advance degrees, and feature five professional programs at the undergraduate and graduate levels; and

WHEREAS, Holy Family has extended its mission beyond its campus borders through the creation of the Holy Family Neighborhood Center in Frankford that provides outreach through an after school program and a visiting nurse program to residents of the Frankford area; now therefore

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, That we honor Holy Family College on becoming Holy Family University; and

FURTHER RESOLVED, That an Engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Sister Francesca Onley, President of Holy Family University as evidence of the sincere respect and admiration of this legislative body.

RESOLUTION NO. 030029 continued

RESOLUTION NO. 030029 continued

RESOLUTION NO. 030029 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the twenty-eight of January, 2003.

> Anna C. Verna PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Marie B. Hauser CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

- Introduced by: Councilmembers Krajewski, O'Neill and Mariano
- Sponsored by: Councilmembers Krajewski, O'Neill, Mariano, Rizzo, Council President Verna, DiCicco, Kenney, Ortiz, Tasco, Miller, Goode, Reynolds Brown, Nutter, Clarke, Cohen and Longstreth