

Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 110925)

RESOLUTION

Recognizing and Thanking Councilwoman Joan L. Krajewski on her Retirement after Thirty-Two Years of Dedicated Service to the People of Philadelphia and, Particularly, the Citizens of the Sixth Council District.

WHEREAS, Joan L. Krajewski was born and raised in Port Richmond to Sam and Anna Kline and had eight brothers and sisters. She attended Nativity BVM Elementary School and Little Flower High School For Girls; and

WHEREAS, The mother of three boys and grandmother to five, Joan Krajewski's career as a public servant began in 1972, when she accepted a position as an investigator with the City of Philadelphia Revenue Department. While serving in this capacity, she was also elected by her co-workers to serve as President of Local 1660, School District Employees, District Council 33 of the American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees (AFSCME). Always active in her community, Joan Krajewski had already established a strong reputation as a fighter and advocate for the Northeast Philadelphia neighborhoods of Port Richmond, Bridesburg, Wissinoming, Frankford, Tacony, Mayfair, Holmesburg and Torresdale, when she was first elected to City Council in 1979; and

WHEREAS, The definition of "diner politics" comes from the practice of Joan Krajewski, whose satellite offices are booths in the Aramingo Diner, Mayfair Diner and The Dining Car where constituents know they can bellow, "Hey Joanie!" and get her undivided attention to find solutions to their problems and concerns related to City government. With accomplishments too numerous to mention, one of Joan's biggest and most successful initiatives was the creation of the Community Life Improvement Program. (C.L.I.P.), which combated quality of life issues affecting her Northeast neighborhoods. Thanks in part to her wide-ranging legislation and oversight, plans are firmly in place to enhance the North Delaware Riverfront and return this great natural resource to the people for commercial, residential and recreational use; and

RESOLUTION NO. 110925 continued

WHEREAS, Krajewski always championed the rights and concerns of her constituents, whether it be the sinking houses in Wissinoming, devastating water main breaks, fighting against federally-mandated prison caps, or going after absentee landlords and nuisance rental properties in Northeast Philadelphia, Joan Krajewski has been there as a strong advocate, most especially for children and adults with special needs and disabilities, and

WHEREAS, Dubbed the "Queen of Constituent Service" not only by the media but by those who elected her for eight terms, Krajewski's office has taken care of 500,000 constituent service calls in her 32 years in office. She has been awarded Philadelphia Magazine's "Best of Philly" as Best Councilperson in three separate years and was ultimately inducted into their Hall of Fame. She was also an inaugural inductee into the Northeast Philadelphia Hall of Fame and was honored with Glen Foerd On the Delaware's Person of the Year Award; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, That it hereby recognizes and thanks Councilwoman Joan L. Krajewski on her retirement after thirty-two years of dedicated and excellent service to the people of Philadelphia, and especially the people of the Sixth Council District.

FURTHER RESOLVED, That an Engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Councilwoman Joan L. Krajewski, further evidencing the admiration and gratitude of this legislative body.

RESOLUTION NO. 110925 continued

RESOLUTION NO. 110925 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the fifteenth of December, 2011.

> Anna C. Verna PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Michael A. Decker CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmember Tasco

Sponsored by: Councilmembers Tasco, Kenney, Greenlee, Sanchez, Reynolds Brown, Goode, Clarke, Green, Jones, O'Neill, Blackwell, Council President Verna, Councilmembers DiCicco, Kelly, Miller and Rizzo