City of Philadelphia



Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 130168)

RESOLUTION

Amending Resolution No. 120001, as amended, which provides Rules for the Government of the Council of the City of Philadelphia, by providing for the period between the time that Councilmanic district boundaries are redrawn and the time that Councilmembers elected to represent the revised districts first take office.

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA,

THAT Resolution No. 120001, which provides Rules for the Government of the Council of the City of Philadelphia, be amended as follows:

Note:

Bold italics indicates matter added by this amendment.

1. A new paragraph XVIII shall be added, to read as follows:

XVIII. Councilmanic Redistricting

- 1. This rule addresses the transitional period between the time that Councilmanic district boundaries are redrawn pursuant to Section 2-102 of The Philadelphia Home Rule Charter and the time that Councilmembers elected to represent the revised districts first take office.
- 2. Effective April 1, 2013, any area within an existing Councilmanic district that will fall in a different Councilmanic district beginning on the first Monday of January 2016 shall be the primary responsibility of the incumbent Councilmember who would represent that area if re-elected in 2015. Matters covered by this rule include constituent services, assistance in zoning matters, recommendations concerning the expenditure of capital funds, recreation activities grants, and other decisions traditionally reserved for the District Councilmember in whose district an area lies.

City of Philadelphia

RESOLUTION NO. 130168 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the fourteenth of March, 2013.

Darrell L. Clarke
PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Michael A. Decker CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmember O'Neill

Sponsored by: Councilmembers Oh, Henon, Kenney, Tasco, Council

President Clarke, Councilmembers Squilla, Reynolds Brown, Greenlee, Jones, Johnson, Quiñones Sánchez, Green and

Goode