## City of Philadelphia



## Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 140393)

## RESOLUTION

Honoring the memory of Samara Salina Banks, and renaming the crosswalk at Second Street and Roosevelt Boulevard to memorialize her spirit and character and serve as a reminder to cars and pedestrians to always travel safely.

WHEREAS, Samara Salina Banks, affectionately known as Mara, was born on February 8, 1986; and

WHEREAS, In July of 2013, Samara and three of her young sons – Saa'sean, Saa'mir, and Saa'deem – lost their lives in a tragic accident when they were struck by a speeding vehicle while trying to cross Roosevelt Boulevard near Second Street; and

WHEREAS, Samara is survived by thirteen siblings and by her son Saa'yon Griffin, who each were beloved by her and an integral part of her life; and

WHEREAS, Those who knew Samara best knew that her favorite job was being a great mother to her four boys, and her work at Yum Yum's ABC 123 Daycare allowed her to spend more time with her children from whom she could not stand to be apart; and

WHEREAS, Samara will be remembered for being the quintessential "people person," for loving her family and friends, and for being the life of the party, and she will be remembered for both her shy streak and her great spirit; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, That it honors the memory of Samara Salina Banks, and renames the crosswalk at Second Street and Roosevelt Boulevard to memorialize her spirit and character and serve as a reminder to cars and pedestrians to always travel safely.

FURTHER RESOLVED, That an Engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the family of Samara Salina Banks as evidence of the sincere respect of this legislative body.

## City of Philadelphia

RESOLUTION NO. 140393 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the eighth day of May, 2014.

Darrell L. Clarke
PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Michael A. Decker CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmember Quiñones Sánchez

Sponsored by: Councilmembers Quiñones Sánchez, Tasco, Oh, Reynolds

Brown, Bass, Greenlee, Goode, Kenney, O'Brien, Squilla,

Jones, Blackwell and Johnson