City of Philadelphia



Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 150098)

RESOLUTION

Honoring the Philadelphia 76ers La Liga Del Barrio on its 15th Anniversary.

WHEREAS, The Philadelphia 76ers La Liga del Barrio (Neighborhood League) was founded in January 2000 through the efforts of then Councilman Angel Ortiz, the Sixers and a dedicated group of Latino sports enthusiasts and educators; and

WHEREAS, La Liga's goal is to use basketball and sports as a means to engage young people from the inner city in organized after-school activity and to promote educational achievement, discipline and tolerance; and

WHEREAS, The project is located in the heart of Philadelphia's Latino Community within the Eastern North Philadelphia section of the City and the Aspira, Inc. school gym at 6301 North 2nd Street is used for the league's games; and

WHEREAS, The 76ers supply strong support for La Liga by providing training for league coaches, active participation for various team personnel and by dedicating one night a year as La Liga nite at the Wells Fargo Center where teams from the league are honored and participate in preliminary games; and

WHEREAS, Over the last 15 years the league has constantly expanded where it now encompasses 32 teams of boys and girls between the ages of 6-18 years old; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF PHILADELPHIA, That we congratulate the Philadelphia 76ers La Liga del Barrio on their 15 years of providing quality activity in the Latino community.

RESOLVED FURTHER, That an Engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to league Director Raymond Alvarez as a sincere sentiment of this legislative body.

City of Philadelphia

RESOLUTION NO. 150098 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the twelfth day of February, 2015.

Darrell L. Clarke PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Michael A. Decker CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

- Introduced by: Councilmembers Greenlee and Quiñones Sánchez
- Sponsored by: Councilmembers Greenlee, Quiñones Sánchez, Goode, Blackwell, O'Brien, Neilson, Oh, Jones, Council President Clarke, Councilmembers Tasco, Henon and Johnson