

## Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 150387)

#### **RESOLUTION**

Honoring and congratulating Deesha Dyer for her outstanding professional accomplishments as being named the White House Social Secretary on April 16, 2015 as the second African American woman to hold the top social post in the Obama Administration and the first as a graduate of the Community College of Philadelphia.

WHEREAS, Ms. Dyer was born in Philadelphia and raised in the City and in Hershey, Pennsylvania. A graduate of The Community College of Philadelphia, Ms. Dyer has been an active voice in youth programs, AIDS advocacy and mentoring young women throughout her distinguished professional career; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Dyer's professional path has included posts at the Pennsylvania Real Estate Investment Trust, and as a freelance journalist for several media outlets including the Philadelphia City Paper; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Dyer's appointment was announced by First Lady Michelle Obama, who praised the Pennsylvania native as being a creative and passionate individual, possessing great public-mindedness and relentless competence; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Dyer is the second African American woman to hold the top social post in the Obama Administration, after the post was formerly held by the former Chief Executive Officer of the Johnson Publishing Company in Chicago; and

WHEREAS, She has deservedly received praise from President Barack Obama, stating "Deesha shares our commitment to a White House that reflects America's history, highlights our culture, and celebrates all Americans"; and

WHEREAS, US Representative Chaka Fattah echoed these comments, referring to her inspiring journey to the White House as "compelling" and stating, "The entire Philadelphia community, especially the Community College of Philadelphia, can be proud of Deesha's accomplishments and success. For many years, Deesha served our

RESOLUTION NO. 150387 continued

community as a young professional, advocate and leader, and to this day, she continues to give back to our City as a mentor to young girls"; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, That Deesha Dyer is hereby proudly honored and recognized for her outstanding professional accomplishment as being named the White House Social Secretary on April 16, 2015 as only the second African American woman to hold the top social post in the Obama Administration.

FURTHER RESOLVED, That an Engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Deesha Dyer for her hard work, determination and contributions to Philadelphia and beyond. Her efforts are proof that Community College of Philadelphia graduates and are capable of greatness. We applaud her in realizing this professional triumph in her career goals and aspirations, and extend the sincere respect and admiration of this legislative body. Congratulations!

| RESOLUTION NO. 150387 continued |  |
|---------------------------------|--|
|                                 |  |
|                                 |  |
|                                 |  |
|                                 |  |
|                                 |  |
|                                 |  |
|                                 |  |
|                                 |  |
|                                 |  |
|                                 |  |
|                                 |  |
|                                 |  |
|                                 |  |
|                                 |  |
|                                 |  |

RESOLUTION NO. 150387 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the twenty-third day of April, 2015.

Darrell L. Clarke
PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Michael A. Decker CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmembers Jones, Council President Clarke, Greenlee,

Reynolds Brown, Squilla, Johnson, Blackwell, Henon, Quiñones Sánchez, Bass, Tasco, O'Neill, Oh, O'Brien, Neilson

and Goode

Sponsored by: Councilmembers Jones, Council President Clarke, Greenlee,

Reynolds Brown, Squilla, Johnson, Blackwell, Henon, Quiñones Sánchez, Bass, Tasco, O'Neill, Oh, O'Brien, Neilson

and Goode