

Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 160474)

RESOLUTION

Recognizing and Congratulating Ye Olde Philadelphia Club of Philadelphia on the occasion of its 90th Anniversary.

WHEREAS, Ye Olde Philadelphia Club was founded in April 1926 by John M. Brown, the first black Superintendent of a Philadelphia Branch of the United States Post Office. William Claxton was the first elected president; and

WHEREAS, The Club's Charter members were Albert Dutrieulle, Eugene Hinson, Clarence Allmond, Harry Black, Clifton Blue, Archie Cambell, William Bascom, Charles Chew, Andrew Stevens, Harry Duplessis, Oscar Harris, Carrol Dorsey, Joseph Montier, Dave Roselle, Joe Seth, Rodman Smith, Aloyisius Cuyjet, George Venning, Ed Webster, Alonzo Webster, William Holden, Thomas Gorgas, Sr., Wendell Cornish, Lem Cowdery and Albert Curry; and

WHEREAS, The first meeting was held at the catering establishment of Albert Dutrieulle at 19th and Chestnut; the Constitution was drafted, limiting the membership to 30 members – all Philadelphia born. The Constitution has been amended since that time; and

WHEREAS, The founders of Ye Olde Philadelphia Club needed an outlet to exchange views of the day and a formal structure to entertain their wives. This guideline remains the Club's structure today; and

WHEREAS, The purpose of this club is mainly social with members belonging to an array of organizations focused on community service; and

WHEREAS, Ye Olde Philadelphia Club is comprised of 55 Active Members and 16 Life Members of notable African-American men of Philadelphia pedigree and distinction; and

WHEREAS, Ye Olde Philadelphia Club members convene almost monthly, for good

RESOLUTION NO. 160474 continued

food and great fellowship at the Belmont Mansion; and

WHEREAS, Ye Olde Philadelphia Club hosts two black tie cocktail receptions and dinner dance affairs each year, the Holiday Party and the Spring Formal, as well as other social events. Members are always distinguished by their regal medallions when they host black tie affairs; and

WHEREAS, Ye Olde Philadelphia Club also hosts an annual members-only party which was originated by the late member, Hugo Marcos and Life Member Lloyd Alma. The gathering was originally an informal affair with light refreshments. As it grew in popularity, the event has taken on many forms – a black tie evening dinner dance to an elegant brunch to a luncheon and fashion show; and

WHEREAS, Annually, the Ye Olde Philadelphia Club, at the Holiday Party, recognizes an outstanding citizen who has made a major civic impact. Past recipients of award plaques have been the Honorable Leon Higgonbotham, Rev. Leon Sullivan, Dr. Ruth Wright Hayre, Rev. Jesse Anderson, Novella Williams, former Police Commissioner Charles Ramsey and most recently, Councilwoman Marian Tasco; and

WHEREAS, In recent times, Ye Olde Philadelphia Club has lost notable Philadelphians such as Paul Terry, Bob Gorgas, James Reaves, Robert Bembry, Preston Taylor, Perry Jones, Walker Jason, Rosemond Lindsay, Eugene "Tony" Weaver, Dr. Leon Bass, Sinkler Casselle, Dr. Beverly Graves, Maurice Chapman, Bob King, and Ennis Manns; and

WHEREAS, On May 28, 2016, Ye Olde Philadelphia Club will hold its 90th Gala Celebration with 450 members and guests at the Claridge Hotel in Atlantic City, New Jersey, for an evening of dining and dancing; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, That we hereby recognize and congratulate Ye Olde Philadelphia Club on the 90th Anniversary of their historic founding.

FURTHER RESOLVED, That an Engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Ye Olde Philadelphia Club as evidence of the sincere sentiments of this legislative body.

| RESOLUTION NO. 160474 continued | |
|---------------------------------|--|
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |

RESOLUTION NO. 160474 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the twelfth of May, 2016.

Darrell L. Clarke
PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Michael A. Decker CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmembers Blackwell, Parker, Green and Taubenberger

Sponsored by: Councilmembers Blackwell, Parker, Green, Taubenberger,

Bass, Gym, Oh, Jones, Henon, Domb, Quiñones Sánchez,

Squilla and O'Neill