

Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 170040)

RESOLUTION

Recognizing and honoring women leaders in Philadelphia's media industry: Mary Mason, Patty Jackson, Thera Milling and Marty Moss-Coane, in observance of Women's History Month.

WHEREAS, Mary Mason is one of Philadelphia's most iconic radio stars. The South Philadelphia-native was in her twenties when she started her career in broadcasting. In 1958, Mason began hosting a popular gospel music show on WHAT-AM. Mason's career evolved at the station, and "Mornings with Mary" became one of its highest rated talk shows. Off the air, Mason spent her time giving back to the community, and to others aspiring to be on the radio. Mason was a founding member of the Black Music Association, and was also a National Board Member of the Martin Luther King Foundation for Non-Violence and Executive Vice-President of the National Black Media Coalition; and

WHEREAS, Patty Jackson is known by many Philadelphians as the "Queen of Middays." Jackson, a native Philadelphian, attended the American Academy of Broadcasting before embarking on her radio career at WSSJ in Camden, NJ. Throughout her decadeslong broadcasting career, Jackson has managed to continue to be the primary voice on WDAS-FM during the week. Jackson has also worked at other area radio stations, including Power 99-FM and Q102. In addition to her on-air presence, Jackson has had a weekly entertainment column featured in the Philadelphia Tribune for over 10 years. Jackson's many accomplishments in the field of media have been locally and nationally recognized. In 1995, Jackson was awarded the Communicator of the Year Award for the National MBA Association. In 2006, Jackson was inducted into the Broadcast Pioneers of Philadelphia Hall of Fame; and

RESOLUTION NO. 170040 continued

WHEREAS, Thera Milling has been a talk show host in Philadelphia for over twenty years at various radio stations, such as WDAS and WHAT. Most recently, Milling has been featured on WURD, where she promotes political involvement and community awareness amongst her listeners. Outside of her on-air work, Milling spends her time mentoring students in North Philadelphia on a variety of subjects, from education to street survival and self esteem. Milling is also involved with many community organizations, including "One Day At A Time," a drug recovery and HIV/AIDS program where she serves as a board member. In 2006, Milling received the Milestone Achievement Award from the Philadelphia AIR Awards. In 2010, Milling was honored with a Community Service Award from the Philadelphia Association of Black Journalists; and

WHEREAS, Marty Moss-Coane is the host and executive producer of WHYY's Radio Times with Marty Moss-Coane, one of the Philadelphia region's most respected, local FM interview and call-in programs. Moss-Coane is a graduate of Temple University. She began her radio career as a volunteer for WHYY. Moss-Coane's hard work paid off, when she became the associate producer for WHYY's Fresh Air show. In 1987, Moss-Coane became the host of Fresh Air. Since then, Moss-Coane has received numerous awards for her excellence in the media industry, including the Best Public Affair Program Award from the Pennsylvania Association of Broadcasters; and

WHEREAS, Mary Mason, Patty Jackson, Thera Milling and Marty Moss-Coane have dedicated their broadcasting careers to providing quality information and entertainment to our Philadelphia citizens; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, That it hereby recognizes and honors women leaders in Philadelphia's media industry: Mary Mason, Patty Jackson, Thera Milling and Marty Moss-Coane, in observance of Women's History Month.

FURTHER RESOLVED, That an Engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the abovementioned leaders as evidence of the sincere admiration of this legislative body.

RESOLUTION NO. 170040 continued	

RESOLUTION NO. 170040 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the twenty-sixth of January, 2017.

Darrell L. Clarke
PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Michael A. Decker CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmembers Jones, Parker and Taubenberger

Sponsored by: Councilmembers Jones, Parker, Taubenberger, Domb, Oh,

Green, Gym and Johnson