

Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 180307)

RESOLUTION

Recognizing and honoring Alicia Conquest, Karen Epps, Heather LaPera, Peter Matranga, and Rebecca Yacker for their outstanding work as teachers in the 4th Council District and for being awarded the 2018 Lindback Foundation Award for Distinguished Public Teachers.

WHEREAS, The Lindback Foundation Award for Distinguished Public Teachers is given annually to teachers from Philadelphia public schools who demonstrate excellence in promoting learning at the highest levels; and

WHEREAS, Teachers are chosen based on their activities that improve the intellectual and character development of students. In 2018, 59 School District of Philadelphia teachers were chosen to receive this prestigious honor, including five educators from schools located within the 4th Council District of Philadelphia; and

WHEREAS, Alicia Conquest has taught Spanish for the Philadelphia School District for eighteen years and has always gone above and beyond for her students. She currently teaches at the High School of the Future, where she is described by her students as a high-energy and high-impact teacher. She also serves as the Track and Field and Cross-Country coach for the school; and

WHEREAS, Karen Epps is a Mathematics teacher at the Science Leadership Academy at Beeber. Epps joined the school in 2014, and has been extremely active in developing a curriculum that could better benefit the students. Epps participates in the school's Student Run Philly Style team and the Yearbook Committee, and has also taught a Philosophy course; and

WHEREAS, Heather LaPera has been a teacher with the Philadelphia School District for seven years. LaPera currently teaches Art at A. Philip Randolph Career Academy. LaPera has also coached basketball and softball for the school, and enjoys being able to share her love of sports with her students; and

RESOLUTION NO. 180307 continued

WHEREAS, Peter Matranga is a Social Studies teacher at Lankenau Environmental Science Magnet High School in Roxborough. Matranga's dedication to teaching is embodied in the belief that every student possesses the ability to learn and grow intellectually—something he works hard to instill in his students each day. Matranga is a graduate of the Temple University College of Education, where he was selected for the Golden Key Honor Society. Matranga also has a background in Archaeology; and

WHEREAS, Rebecca Yacker is currently an English teacher at Roxborough High School. Although she has only been at the school for two years, her endless dedication to the school's students has had a major impact on the school community. Yacker began her career in education through AmeriCorps, and worked as a Teaching Assistant in various high-needs Philadelphia neighborhood schools. Yacker is a graduate of Temple University's College of Education; and

WHEREAS, The achievements, dedication, and service of these teachers is memorialized in the success and process of the students of the 4th Council District; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, That it hereby recognizes and honors Alicia Conquest, Karen Epps, Heather LaPera, Peter Matranga, and Rebecca Yacker for always going above and beyond in the classroom for the students of the 4th Council District and for being awarded the 2018 Lindback Foundation Award for Distinguished Public Teachers.

FURTHER RESOLVED, That an Engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Alicia Conquest, Karen Epps, Heather LaPera, Peter Matranga, and Rebecca Yacker as further evidence of the sincere appreciation and admiration of this legislative body.

RESOLUTION NO. 180307 continued	

RESOLUTION NO. 180307 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the fifth of April, 2018.

Darrell L. Clarke
PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Michael A. Decker CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmembers Jones, Green and Blackwell

Sponsored by: Councilmembers Jones, Green, Blackwell, Domb, Gym,

Parker, Greenlee, Taubenberger and Squilla