

#### Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 190322)

#### RESOLUTION

Recognizing and Honoring the recipients of the 2019 Lindback Foundation Distinguished Principal Award on their excellence in leadership and dedication to educating the children of Philadelphia.

WHEREAS, The Lindback Foundation Distinguished Principal Award is given annually to Philadelphia School District school leaders "who have made significant leadership and humanitarian contributions" to their school communities. The recipients receive a \$20,000 prize for their school, and ceremony in their honor. This year, the recipients are: April Brown from Laura W. Waring Elementary, Shakae Dupree-Campbell from Middle Years Alternative, Nimet Eren from Kensington Health Sciences Academy, Rebecca Julien from Eliza B. Kirkbride Elementary, Todd Kimmel from Horatio B. Hackett Elementary, Kiana Thompson from Academy at Palumbo, and John Spencer from John F. McCloskey Elementary; and

WHEREAS, April Brown has been the Principal of Waring Elementary School since April 2016. Brown has sought to build relationships in the community, and is dedicated to removing barriers to her students' learning. She has strengthened the school's relationship with Community College of Philadelphia, she also attends community meetings in the Spring Garden Neighborhood, in addition to visiting homeless shelters where some of her students live; and

WHEREAS, Shakae Dupree-Campbell has been the Principal of Middle Years Alternative (MYA) since 2014. A graduate of Central High School, Dupree-Campbell is dedicated to exposing her students to college and careers. Since her tenure as Principal at MYA, the School has seen their School Progress Report score jump from 32 to 71; and

WHEREAS, Nimet Eren has been the Principal of Kensington Health Sciences Academy since 2017. She came to Philadelphia from Harvard University through Teach for America (TFA). After her time with TFA was complete, Eren decided to stay in Philadelphia. She taught at Onley High School for eight years where she sponsored the school newspaper and the National Honor Society; and

RESOLUTION NO. 190322 continued

WHEREAS, Rebecca Julien has been the Principal of Kirkbride Elementary for that last four years. The School has been recognized for their school climate, academics, attendance and growth. Of the 2019 graduating class, 71% plan to enroll in special admission high schools. Under her leadership, Kirkbride was named a 2016 National Title One School; and

WHEREAS, Todd Kimmel is the Principal of Hackett Elementary in the neighborhood where he lives in Kensington. A graduate of Northeast High School, Kimmel returned to the Philadelphia School District to teach at Stetson Middle School, where he taught every grade from kindergarten to sixth. After earning a Master's Degree, he earned a principal residency with the Philly-PLUS Leadership Training Program, and finally earned the position of Principal at Hackett; and

WHEREAS, Kiana Thompson has been the Principal of the Academy at Palumbo for the last five years. Under her leadership Palumbo has been named a Peer Leader since 2015, the number of seats at the School has increased by 300 students, and the School has lead with a strong emphasis on climate and culture; and

WHEREAS, John Spencer has worked as a Principal, Director and Science Teacher. He is currently studying to earn his doctorate at the University of Pennsylvania. His research interests include asynchronous/synchronous distance learning environments, rigor and relevance of instructional programs, and lesson planning; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, THAT THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, Hereby recognizes and honors the recipients of the 2019 Lindback Foundation Principal Award on their excellence in leadership and dedication to educating the children of Philadelphia.

FURTHER RESOLVED, That an Engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the recipients of the 2019 Lindback Foundation Distinguished Principal Award and School District of Philadelphia as a sincere expression of the Council of the City of Philadelphia's gratitude, admiration and recognition.

RESOLUTION NO. 190322 continued

RESOLUTION NO. 190322 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the twenty fifth of April, 2019

Darrell L. Clarke PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Michael A. Decker CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

- Introduced by: Councilmembers Blackwell, Squilla, Parker, Johnson, Green, Henon and Council President Clarke
- Sponsored by: Councilmembers Blackwell, Squilla, Parker, Johnson, Green, Henon, Council President Clarke, Councilmembers Gym, Quiñones Sánchez, Greenlee, Domb, Taubenberger, Jones, Oh, O'Neill and Bass