

Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 191020)

RESOLUTION

Honoring the St. Joseph's Preparatory School Varsity Football Team on convincingly winning the 2019 PIAA Class 6A State Championship.

WHEREAS, On Saturday, December 7, 2019, St. Joseph's Prep Hawks soundly defeated Central Dauphin, 35-13, at Hersheypark Stadium, becoming the Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association (PIAA) Class 6A State Champions; and

WHEREAS, On a cold, clear evening, with temperatures in the high 30s and calm winds, the Hawks took command of the game in the first half, holding Central Dauphin scoreless and building a 21-0 lead while yielding just three first downs; and

WHEREAS, The Hawks won with a dominant running game, outstanding special teams, and tough defense with seniors leading the way in what *The Philadelphia Inquirer* described as "a fierce, physically dominant performance"; and

WHEREAS, Highlight performers included running back Kolbe Burrell, who rushed for 189 yards; receiver Marvin Harrison, Jr. who made an outstanding finger-tip catch and eluded six Central Dauphin defenders for a 34-yard touchdown; and team captain Liam Johnson, credited with 10 tackles and four quarterback sacks; and

WHEREAS, The game of football is above all else a team sport, depending on the contributions of every player to prevail on the gridiron. It is fitting, therefore, to list here the name of every player on the Hawks' PIAA championship game roster:

Seniors: Andrew Bailey, Bryheem Barr, Kolbe Burrell, Brian Caldwell, Mikel Delgado, Liam Johnson, Anthony Leneghan, Matt Lombardi, Joseph McCabe, Matt McGeary, R.J. McKee, Aidan McNuly, Aidan Nash, Anthony Rightley, Blake Romano, Juan Pablo Santisteban, Casey Stephenson, and Dan Stevenson.

Juniors: Zavier Atkins, Aiden Ball, James Bommentre, Michael Campbell, Malik Cooper, Trey Doyle, Maximus Fisher, Sahmir Hagans, Marvin Harrison Jr., Noble House, Kyle

RESOLUTION NO. 191020 continued

McCord, Michael McCormick, Jaden McSeed, Giambi Nesbitt, Cade Rooney, Julian Talley, Jeremiah Trotter Jr., Sean Walker, David Watson, and Nick Yagodich.

Sophomores: Charlie Backe, Joshua Barlow, Danny Bryce, Antonio Chadha, Maurice Clark, Dan Daly, Ryan Duckworth, Chris Gallelli, Bryce Goodman, Brad Harris, Noah Klick, Ethan Kuzy, Brendan Leneghan, John Levy, Danny McCoy, Roman McDonald, Patrick McGinnis, Andrew Menold, Kennan Nelson Jr., Rocco Nicholl, Chisom Ogbodo, Ryan Oliver, Dane Picariello, Herbie Quarterman, Matt Robak, Alexander Squillante, and Alec Treadway.

Freshmen: Julian Cervantes, Matthew Dumond, Josiah Trotter, and Erick Woods Jr.; and

WHEREAS, This victory produced the Prep's second straight State title, third in the last four years, and fifth since 2013, emblematic of a talented, well-coached powerhouse of a team; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, That Council does hereby honor and commend the St. Joseph's Preparatory School Hawks Varsity Football Team on winning the 2019 PIAA Class 6A State Championship;

FURTHER RESOLVED, That an Engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Head Coach Tim Roken and the members of the St. Joseph's Prep Football Team as evidence of the sincere sentiments of this legislative body.

RESOLUTION NO. 191020 continued

RESOLUTION NO. 191020 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the twelfth day of December, 2019.

Darrell L. Clarke PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Michael A. Decker CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

- Introduced by: Councilmember Greenlee for Council President Clarke
- Sponsored by: Councilmember Greenlee, Council President Clarke Councilmembers Henon, Green, Jones, Parker, Squilla and O'Neill