City of Philadelphia



Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 200121)

RESOLUTION

Also naming the 1600 to 1700 block of West Jefferson Street, as "Dr. Oscar J. Cooper Way" to honor the life of Oscar James Cooper and his contributions to Omega Psi Phi Fraternity and the medical community in the City of Philadelphia.

WHEREAS, Born in Washington, D.C. in 1888, Oscar James Cooper attended M Street High School and went on to received his Bachelor's Degree in Biology from Howard University in 1913 and then his medical degree from Howard's School of Medicine in 1917; and

WHEREAS, While an undergraduate student at Howard in 1911, Cooper, along with his classmates Frank Coleman, Edgar A. Love, and their professor, Dr. Ernest Just, founded the inaugural chapter of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity on the cardinal principles of manhood, scholarship, perseverance and uplift; and

WHEREAS, Upon his graduation from medical school, Cooper moved north to Philadelphia, starting his own medical practice out of his home at 1621 West Jefferson Street; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Cooper was a charter member of the local graduate chapter of Omega Psi Phi, Mu Omega, serving as its first basileus from 1920-1922; and

WHEREAS, He successfully practiced medicine in Philadelphia for 50 years, winning numerous awards, until his death in 1972; and

WHEREAS, His legacy as one of the Fraternity's four founders – representing hard work and service to his brothers and the community lives on today; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, That the 1600 to 1700 block of West Jefferson Street, as "Dr. Oscar J. Cooper Way" to honor the life of Oscar James Cooper and his contributions to the Mu Omega chapter of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity in the City of Philadelphia.

City of Philadelphia

RESOLUTION NO. 200121 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the thirteenth day of February, 2020.

Darrell L. Clarke
PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Michael A. Decker CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmember Gilmore Richardson for Council President

Clarke

Sponsored by: Councilmember Gilmore Richardson, Council President Clarke,

Councilmembers Parker, Oh, Johnson, Henon, Green, Domb,

Gauthier, Jones, Brooks, Gym, Thomas and Bass