## **City of Philadelphia**



## Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 200583)

## RESOLUTION

Honoring and congratulating the Frankford High School Baseball team, on their successful 2019 season and conference 11-3 record in the Philadelphia Public League.

WHEREAS, The Frankford High School Baseball team is led by Frankford High School's Head Baseball Coach and Frankford alumni Juan Namnun; and

WHEREAS, This Philadelphia Public Championship League win was the third consecutive title victory as the Frankford Pioneers stood 2nd overall in the Philadelphia Public League Independence Conference and 37th in the Pennsylvania Division AAAAAA in their 2019 season; and

WHEREAS, The Frankford Pioneers faced challenges before ramping up to victory with three consecutive losses, two of them back-to-back to Central High School. However, with the losses behind the team, the Pioneers went on to win 4 consecutive games in the playoffs to eventually beat Olney in the Philadelphia Public League championship game; and

WHEREAS, Philadelphia Public League Independence Division 2019 Pitcher of the year, Junior, Abednego Santos, helped lead the Pioneers to their Victory this season as the starting pitcher and the 2018 season as the closing pitcher; and

WHEREAS, The Frankford High School's mission statement is, "Frankford High School is a collaborative setting engaging all stakeholders in an inspirational and respectful learning environment that prepares students to be productive global citizens" and Frankford demonstrates this sentiment with competitive athletics and excellent academics; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, That we hereby congratulate and honor the Frankford High School Pioneers Baseball team on their 2019 Philadelphia Public League championship win.

## **City of Philadelphia**

RESOLUTION NO. 200583 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the twenty-ninth day of October, 2020.

Darrell L. Clarke PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Michael A. Decker CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmember Thomas

Sponsored by: Councilmembers Thomas, Parker and Brooks