

City of Philadelphia

City Council Chief Clerk's Office 402 City Hall Philadelphia, PA 19107

RESOLUTION NO. 200670
Introduced November 19, 2020
Councilmember Thomas for
Council President Clarke

RESOLUTION

Honoring and congratulating Ed Hurtt for his work with youth in the community and for being awarded the 76ers Jr. NBA Coach of the Year Award.

WHEREAS, Eddie Hurtt, also known as "Coach Ed", has been a part of the youth basketball community in North Philadelphia for more than three decades; and

WHEREAS, Hurtt grew up playing basketball and volunteered, from the age of twelve, at the Sonny Hill Basketball League while growing up in North Philadelphia, where he learned from coaches like Claude Gross, Tee Shields, Fred Douglas and John Hardnett; and

WHEREAS, Hurtt came into his own while working as an assistant coach under Coach Kenny Hamilton at Benjamin Franklin High School, from whom he counted as a mentor;

WHEREAS, Hurtt went to start his own program, Youth Working Together (YWT), where he continues to coach and mentor youth; and

WHEREAS, Hurtt has been an outstanding youth basketball coach posting a 425-125 record over 32 years in the tri-state area; and

WHEREAS, Hurtt has coached countless young men, many who went on to play basketball professionally or find success in other endeavors, including Kyle Lowry, Toronto Raptors point guard; Mark Tyndale, Raptors player development coach; and rapper, Meek Mill, all Philadelphia natives; and

WHEREAS, Hurtt was awarded the 76er's Jr. NBA Coach of the Year award for his work over the years with youth in the community as the result of numerous calls from the public to nominate him; and

City of Philadelphia

RESOLUTION NO. 200670 continued

WHEREAS, Hurtt continues to guide young men, encouraging them to stay in school, value hard work, and strive for something better; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, THAT THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, Hereby honors and congratulates Ed Hurtt for his work with youth in the community and for being awarded the 76ers Jr. NBA Coach of the Year Award.