

#### Council of the City of Philadelphia Office of the Chief Clerk Room 402, City Hall Philadelphia

(Resolution No. 210257)

#### RESOLUTION

Recognizing and congratulating Folasade A. Olanipekun-Lewis on her election as Chair of the Board of Trustees for the Free Library of Philadelphia.

WHEREAS, We celebrate the appointment of Ms. Folasade A. Olanipekun-Lewis to the position of Chair of the Board of Trustees for the Free Library of Philadelphia; and

WHEREAS, Olanipekun-Lewis most recently served as the treasurer for the Board of Trustees for the Free Library of Philadelphia and is the co-chair of the board's Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Olanipekun-Lewis completed secondary school in Nigeria, West Africa; obtained an undergraduate degree in Economics from the Graduate Center, City University of New York, CUNY BA Program; a Juris Doctor degree from Temple University Beasley School of Law; and a Master's degree in Government Administration from the University of Pennsylvania, Fels School of Government; and

WHEREAS, Olanipekun-Lewis is the Regional Director for Government Affairs and Air Service at American Airlines. Previously, Olanipekun-Lewis was the Chief Administrative Officer of the Philadelphia International Airport; and

WHEREAS, Prior to her time at the airport, Ms. Olanipekun-Lewis served as the Chief Financial Officer for City Council President Darrell L. Clarke, where she was responsible for providing a wide variety of financial and programmatic support to the Council President and members of his legislative body. This included facilitating City Council's annual review of the City of Philadelphia operating and capital budgets and five-year plan; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Olanipekun-Lewis also provided executive project oversight on councilmanic initiatives and special projects covering a broad range of municipal activities, including the Actual Value Initiative (AVI) program relating the reassessment of taxable realty, proposed divestitures of the city-owned utility, Philadelphia Gas Works, Aviation five-year capital enhancement program, and fiscal matters of the School District of Philadelphia; and

RESOLUTION NO. 210257 continued

WHEREAS, Previously, Ms. Olanipekun-Lewis served as Deputy Commerce Director for Finance and Administration for the City of Philadelphia where she was responsible for managing the department's daily operations including finance, contract and program monitoring, human resources, office management, and information technology services, as well as developing and implementing a project management system for the 10 economic development agencies, commissions, and quasi-governmental entities that report to the Deputy Mayor for Planning and Economic Development; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Olanipekun Lewis was the City Treasurer for the City of Philadelphia. Prior to this, Ms. Olanipekun-Lewis was Director of Finance for the Philadelphia Parking Authority; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Olanipekun-Lewis also served as the Chief Financial Officer for the School District of Philadelphia where she oversaw a \$1.9 billion budget; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Olanipekun-Lewis was also previously the Director of Finance for the City of Birmingham, Alabama where she oversaw the administration of the city budgets—a combined \$580 million operating and capital budgets, and served as treasurer to numerous city agencies and boards, including the City's \$900 million Retirement and Relief Pension System; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF PHILADELPHIA, That Council does hereby recognize and congratulate Folasade A. Olanipekun-Lewis on her election as Chair of the Board of Trustees for the Free Library.

RESOLUTION NO. 210257 continued

RESOLUTION NO. 210257 continued

CERTIFICATION: This is a true and correct copy of the original Resolution, Adopted by the Council of the City of Philadelphia on the tenth day of June, 2021.

Darrell L. Clarke PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

Michael A. Decker CHIEF CLERK OF THE COUNCIL

Introduced by: Councilmember Gilmore Richardson

Sponsored by: Councilmember Gilmore Richardson, Council President Clarke, Councilmembers Domb, Henon, Gauthier, Squilla, Green, Brooks, Parker, Oh, Gym, Bass and Thomas